Hi everybody,
boys I feel stupid. I have pestered Matt a couple of times about VaS just to find this topic after weeks...
Most of my question were also raised here. One of them the Torpedo question.
But first the questions so far and Matts answers:
* How is the Command rating of the 3 English ships in the test
scenario?
>>Assume a default of 4.
* Am I right that no ship in the test scenario can fire at
extreme or long ranges, since no ship has guns firing that far?
>>Correct.
* Same goes for Fast Moving target, since the fastest ships are
the 3 British with 7". So the only modifier we can get in the test
scenario is +1 for large silhouette?
>>Correct.
* How to establish the large silhouette modifier? Do we use the
Fire Arcs abstraction? Or is it exactly the whole beam facing with no
degree deviation?
>>Use the fire arcs.
* Is the Fire Arc of the main guns 360 degree? I presume NO! It
seems impossible to shoot to the rear for a front turret. So basically
we have 3 fire arcs for each turret: Both sides and front or back
(depending where the turret is located.). Right?
>>Correct!
S&P #29 P.15; Crippled: “In addition the AD of the ship’s secondary and anti-aircraft
weapons will be halved (rounded down).“
Is this also true for Torpedoes?
>> At the moment, yes.
S&P #29 P.16; Damage Control: “Many critical hits have special effects that further debilitate a ship beyond the raw damage they cause. Weapons can be put out of commission, sections can be flooded and flashbacks from ammunition stores can cause terrible harm. These special effects are the only things Damage Control can repair – it cannot be used to restore Damage or Crew points. “
Let’s presume I lose a main turret because my crew is at crippled level. Can I “repair” it in the End phase (manning the guns again etc.)?
>> No - that is not a critical hit.
Some critical effects read “no damage control permitted”. Is this for the rest of the game?
>> Yes.
Weapons table 5 – Turret destroyed - Can I “repair” it in the End phase?
>> Of course.
On to the Torpedoes:
S&P #30 P.20; Torpedoes: “The Torpedo counter is moved 8” forward at the start of the Attack Phase of the next turn. “
· This can lead to strange situations. Since the counter is moved at the start of the next turn’s attack phase the firing ship has to move over the Torpedo in next turns movement phase.
Is this intended?
Or is it moved immidiately and then (presuming it does not strike a target) moved again in the next attack phase?
Or should the sentence read: “The Torpedo counter is moved 8” forward at the start of the Movement Phase of the next turn.”
Matt already admitted that he is not THAT happy with the torpedo rules.
What about the following rule:
Torpedos are moved in the attack phase. Basically like a short range shot.