urdinaran said:Good point, I like the finesse attack idea. But what about say, a monstrous scorpion? Should its stinger be able to finesse? Would it still count as a light weapon even though the creature is quite large?
Sutek said:I'm just saying that the answer in both cases is "no". There's no need. If you say "Claws = AP1" then a kitten can scratch through a breast plate as easy as a lion. Or not...bad example, but you see what I mean.
AP 1 is nigh worthless. It can penetrate so few types of armor as to be not worth mentioning.
In reality, claws rake through cloth and flesh. Little else. If enough damage is dealt to a well armored target, there are rules for damaging the armor (20+ pts of damage), but then those are potentially killing blows as well.
I just see no need to assign AP to claws.
Hyborian Apeman said:Well, an AP 1 + str bonus can be significant enough to beat DR and thus avoid half the DR. An AP 0 doesn't allow you to bypass any DR, no matter how strong you are. So whether or not claws have an AP 1 or 0 is monumentally important if you are dealing with a strong but not dexterous critter.
Raven Blackwell said:Bite: AP 2 + Str modifer
may not finesse/can cut through armor
[Exception: serpents and those creature with similiar long necks may finesse but AP drops to 1 + Str modifer]