A Call to Arms 2e FAQ

I find the "Launch Breaching Pods and Shuttles!" SA somewhat confusing in its wording.

1. When do you target the ship that is to be boarded? Attack Phase or when you perform the SA?

2. When is the 4" restriction applied? When performing the SA or the Attack Phase or both?

3. Also the ship targeted may not have moved more than half it speed. When does this apply? When you perform the SA or in the Attack Phase?
 
From memory, but should be correct. You target the ship during the movement phase, which is when SAs are normally used. Your ship has to finish it's move within 4" of the target of the boarding action. The troops don't land until after the attack phase, so if the ship trying to board is destroyed during the attack phase no boarding takes place. The target of the boarding action can't have moved more than half it's original top speed during this turn's movement phase (so don't waste your time trying to board an enemy ship that's still to move).
 
Iain McGhee said:
From memory, but should be correct.
Thanks. Got any reference on where to find the official answer on this?

Your ship has to finish it's move within 4" of the target of the boarding action.
Ok at the end of the ships move, so it does not matter if the targeted ship then moves out of the 4" radius?
 
Ok at the end of the ships move, so it does not matter if the targeted ship then moves out of the 4" radius?

Yes it does. The target ship must be within 4" of your own in the attack phase and it cannot have moved more than half its original speed that turn. So, you can only really use this SA (unless your opponent isn't too savvy or the ship has taken a few speed crits) if you are targeting a ship that has already moved.

Regards,

Dave
 
As Foxmeister says. I'd asked on Rulesmasters a while back about whether the ship boarding had to start or finish it's move within 4" and Mr Sprange himself posted that it was at the finish. Other parts of my original post was from the rules and turn sequence entries (and hundreds of games :wink: )
 
Foxmeister said:
So, you can only really use this SA (unless your opponent isn't too savvy or the ship has taken a few speed crits) if you are targeting a ship that has already moved.
Don't forget my old friend 'Lumbering' ;)

You could also use it as a deterrant/area denial tactic... put a ship on boarding action in a place you don't want your enemy to move to.
 
You're probably better off putting this in the rulesmasters forum. It might have been answered already if you search. I don't know the answer for definate but I would guess it's yes though.
 
This came up the other day in a game i was playing against Funbeast

1: Stealth. Was under the impression that if you get a stealth roll to 1+ you dont need to roll! But FB insisted that you need to roll 2+ or you fail to lock on! Which is it?

2: Ship bases, you cant stack fighter bases ( no problem with that) but ship bases FB is insisting that you can not place 1 ship base over lapping another, now i cant find any reference in the rule book for this at all!

So which is right?
 
Stealth is automatically beaten on a roll of 6. There is no automatic failure on a 1 though, so a ship with its stealth reduced to 1+ will automatically be seen, no roll required.

Stacking is described in the movement chapter:
Ships may never be stacked on top of one another. If your movement ends ‘on top’ of another ship, simply place your ship as far as it may normally move without being stacked on another. Fighters (see page 28), however, may be placed on top of ship counters or bases, but never on top of other Fighters.
 
I think he is asking if two ships can have their bases overlapping, not necessarily stacked 100% one on top of another...

...just the lip of a base, over its neighbors base. Stems an inch or two apart still.
 
Ahh but then we come down to the old question about base sizes, whats to stop me from putting all sm,all bases on my BIG ships nothing and being as the game is all measured from the "stem" what difference does this rule make?

None!

It seems to be an obsolite rule where the base of the ships actually where to be considered important at one time!

And being as the newer plastic bases are slightly different size to the older ones and ppl now mounting fighters on different style bases, it now seems a complete waste of time!!

So being as i was only overlapping the edge of the base not stackig on top of one another, i ask you should this rule still be there!
 
If a high crew crit result is rolled so that it also yields additional damage... the Shadows take that - and any applicable effects - but they ignore the crew loss as usual. 8)
 
Shadows ignore the crew losses only - it is worded very badly! As written, Shadows would completely ignore any crit that does any crew damage whatsoever... which is all crits except engines 1-4 and weapons 4!

The way it should work is that you take all crits as normal, but simply ignore the "crew" column of the crit table.
 
In fact a Shadow player should fear the 5-5 and 5-6 crits,
the other 5's crits do nothing to shadows (no DC needed and no crew).

A No SA is not a big threat as shadows have a very few SA available (crit 5-5)

The only thing is that crits might be *2 *3 or even *4 so a 5-5 or 5-6 can do some damages to a shadow ship
(personnal experience as a shadow player, scouts without shields do not like when the last crit you suffer in the same turn is a small 5-5 but tripled and get your dmg down to 0 :( (thinking about Dilgar damned Master of Destruction ...) )

Edit : same as Burger for the wording, I'm just writing so slowly in english ...
 
Back
Top