A Call to Arms 2e FAQ

Now I understand why I don't understand german ^^
Maybe french and english are finally closer than I thought ... :? :mrgreen:
 
Great :shock:
We were playing wrong now that I read this...
So, its not pick 'Matter Cannons' for all, its Matter Cannon on one, Lasers on another, etc.

I kinda liked it better the way I played it....now its more management :P

More to 'relearn' for the Vegas Tourney next month.
 
basaint said:
I kinda liked it better the way I played it....now its more management :P
Put a marker next to the scouted target... every one of your ships chooses one weapon to get rerolls against it. How's that more management? ;)
 
Well, i guess it's not THAT much management (I use the B5 target tokens anyway).

Im just bitchin i guess...more 'different' guns means I might die faster :o
 
Of course the one you send it back to must be the one for whose bonuses you apply... if you claim the +1 for being within 10" of the fleet carrier, you can only restore it to that fleet carrier. To keep it simple just declar which carrier you are attempting to restore to, before rolling.
 
The Klikkitak rules say specifically that you can't get them back through Fleet Carrier.
There is no such phrase in the Dilgar special rule.

But yes, it is just rude, and I think a definite case where common sense should prevail over rules as written!
 
Burger said:
The Klikkitak rules say specifically that you can't get them back through Fleet Carrier.
There is no such phrase in the Dilgar special rule.

But yes, it is just rude, and I think a definite case where common sense should prevail over rules as written!

To take it further:
I personally fear the Klikitaks more, so IMO it may be reasonable for the Dilgar to roll for flights that failed to hit (i.e. that didn't pass the hull score of the target).
Fluff reasoning: they only did a glancing blow so weren't completely destroyed and recoverable by a Fleet carrier..

Completely unproven of course ;)
 
As the rules stand:

Klikkitaks cannot be intercepted and cannot be recovered.
Thoruns can be intercepted and recovered.

Thoruns do 1AD Td SAP, and yield no victory points, (which could be cheesy, if brought separately.)

Klikkitaks do 1AD SAP DD Precise. (it would be pretty unusual to buy them separately, but if you did they would yield VPs apparently).

Now a Klikkitak overloads its reactor, but a Thorun simply crashes into the enemy. Now that difference would account for the differenve in rules - and I could certainly see that Thoruns that miss are recovereble. But certainly not ones that hit.

However, a klikkitak that is shot down is recoverable, so why should one that misses not be?
 
Greg Smith said:
Now a Klikkitak overloads its reactor, but a Thorun simply crashes into the enemy. Now that difference would account for the differenve in rules - and I could certainly see that Thoruns that miss are recovereble. But certainly not ones that hit.

However, a klikkitak that is shot down is recoverable, so why should one that misses not be?

Trying fluff logic again:
one that is shot down when its reactor was "not that critical yet" is actually saved from utter and complete destruction by the gunfire. One that misses will end up disintegrating itself.. Successfully.

And yeah, it was quite a stretch. :roll:
 
But the klikkitaks can actually fly around for as long as they like, with overloaded reactors... although the fluff implies it is like a suicidal "Ramming speed!!!" dive towards a target, it really doesn't work that way. You can convert in turn 1 and still be flying around in turn 10.
 
Burger said:
The Klikkitak rules say specifically that you can't get them back through Fleet Carrier.
There is no such phrase in the Dilgar special rule.

But yes, it is just rude, and I think a definite case where common sense should prevail over rules as written!

One of the smaller tweeks I added to the DW pack - also stated that Dilgar suicide fighters ignore interceptors...............
 
Burger said:
But the klikkitaks can actually fly around for as long as they like, with overloaded reactors... although the fluff implies it is like a suicidal "Ramming speed!!!" dive towards a target, it really doesn't work that way. You can convert in turn 1 and still be flying around in turn 10.

It could be that there's no way to shut down an overloaded reactor. It may take a while (even more than 10 turns) before it actually explode. But it is, in essence, doomed.
 
M1ndr1d3rs said:
Burger said:
But the klikkitaks can actually fly around for as long as they like, with overloaded reactors... although the fluff implies it is like a suicidal "Ramming speed!!!" dive towards a target, it really doesn't work that way. You can convert in turn 1 and still be flying around in turn 10.

It could be that there's no way to shut down an overloaded reactor. It may take a while (even more than 10 turns) before it actually explode. But it is, in essence, doomed.
What actually seems to happen, judging by the figures, is that the reactor is turned into a big bomb which is detonated manually. It still provides some degree of power but the fighter is slower; its speed drops from 14 to 9, its dogfight bonus drops from +1 to 0, and its dodge changes from 2+ to 4+. But the reactor won't explode until the pilot presses the big button. If the pilot mistimes pressing the button, the Klikkitak explodes without damaging the target.

The main difference between suicide fighters and fighters which have been shot down is that in the latter case, the flight may not have been wiped out and survivors may make it back to the carrier to regroup with survivors from other flights to form a new flight. Suicide fighters aren't interested in getting back to the carrier; in the unlikely event that they fail to hit a target hundreds of metres long, they'll just go round for another pass. There are no survivors to regroup back at the carrier. A flight which rolls its attack die but fails to beat the target's hull probably didn't miss, it just failed to get through the ship's armour and ended up as a smear on the paintwork.
 
Back
Top