A Call to Arms 2e FAQ

Shadows automatically repair crits in the end phase as one of their special features.

Do they repair crits received in that same turn, or do they have to wait a turn like everyone else? Comments I have seen from Matt, seem to indicate that they must suffer with the ill-effects for at least 1 turn, just like everyone else.

Thanks
Dom
 
They must suffer the crits for an entire turn, just like everyone else.

Note they do not use damage control to fix crits, so a "no damage control" crit will not prevent them repairing all their crits, at the end of the next turn.
 
Hi,

I hope this wasnt asked yet, but I didnt find anything about it.

What comes first? Interceptors or Dodgesave?

I couldnt find anything conclusive in the rulebook...

Cheers
 
If you have any doubt just think about what is better for you in defense.

You dodge or not but no threshold whereas if miss an interceptor roll you burn one die (or roll on 6+)
Therefore it seems logical and better for you to first dodge and then try to intercept only the remaining shots.

(and when you intercept with a fighter you really wish not to roll this die if you can avoid it ;) )
 
Na-Po said:
If you have any doubt just think about what is better for you in defense.
Whilst that works in this particular case for dodge vs interceptors, it isn't a good generalization. Often times, what is best for you might not be how it is done. For example GEG comes before Close Blast Doors.
 
It makes sense, though.

You actually dodge all shots fired at you; it just saves a bit of time if you only roll to dodge the ones which aren't going to miss anyway. :) Interceptors track and fire on the shots which are still going to hit - the ones you're probably flying into while trying to dodge the rest.

Shields and GEG are your next line of defence - either the ship's skin or just outside it.

Anything which gets past that has penetrated the ship and does damage, and that's where Close Blast Doors comes in, limiting the damage caused by the hit.

So the next question is, which applies first - adaptive armour or Close Blast Doors? By the above logic, I'd say adaptive armour goes first, being the ship's skin, whereas blast doors are inside the ship.
 
CTBD is a Special Action so in its text you know exactly when to apply it or not.
The doubt was between two (or several) traits, and here a little logic can help to save time ;-)
As said you follow the shot way as it gets closer and closer to your ship and apply each line of defense one after the other.
Usually it works, and in case of doubt ... --> RuleBook ;-)
 
Question about the base rule "Scout Trait".
Some player in our play group got the view, if a Scout use his trait to give target datas to other ship you may only coose one single weapon per ship that now becomes the Twin-Linked Trait.
My interpretation is that all weapons (firing on that target) may fire with TL trait (not Beam,TL or E-Mines).
Who got it right?
 
The wording is quite clear that it is one weapon per ship. "You may choose any one weapon system on any ships attacking the enemy target. You may re-roll all Attack Dice for those weapon systems that fail to hit the target" (bold added by me)
 
THX!
So clear is that not. You are an english but we translate it and "any one" is all, but not clear to translate to German. Any or one is ok but not any one.
Clear to translate is:"... You may choose one weapon system on any ships attacking..."
Same prob. is at the Planetary assault mission. :wink:
 
:D ^^nice!
It´s just a grammar prob.. Some things in english sounds just like Yoda to for german :wink: Thats why some times the contents is not clear.
 
LOL!
"Any one" meaning is similar to "one" but just means that you are free to choose one that you like. Just saying "one weapon system" might mean that it only affects one specific weapon system such as matter cannons. "Any one" implies that you can choose any weapon freely on each ship.
 
That, in fact, is exactly how I originally interpreted it - any one weapon system, e.g. matter cannons, gets to re-roll misses. So I'd have originally guessed that a Centurion and a Vorchan are attacking the same target, the scout says "Re-direct for matter cannons available", the Centurion can re-roll misses from its matter cannons but the Vorchan can't re-roll misses from its plasma accelerators.

Wrong!

Each ship firing on the target can choose one weapon system. The Centurion gets re-rolls on its matter cannons and the Vorchan gets re-rolls on its plasma accelerators.

Better wording for the rule might be "any ships attacking the enemy target may choose one weapon" - it's the firing ship's choice of weapon, not the scout's.
 
"Any one" meaning is similar to "one" but just means that you are free to choose one that you like. Just saying "one weapon system" might mean that it only affects one specific weapon system such as matter cannons. "Any one" implies that you can choose any weapon freely on each ship.
^ok, thats I have not roofed.
Thank you all for teaching service with the UK grammar :wink:
 
Back
Top