A Call to Arms 2e FAQ

A simple question...IF a weapon has double, triple...damage, when it scores a single critical hit

...Does the enemy ship take a solid hit first, then the opponent rolls the dice on the crit table and any damage taken from i.e. weapons offline(-2/-2) is either dubbled or tripled(according to the weapon which fired)?

This is the way to go right?
 
Omnipotent said:
A simple question...IF a weapon has double, triple...damage, when it scores a single critical hit

...Does the enemy ship take a solid hit first, then the opponent rolls the dice on the crit table and any damage taken from i.e. weapons offline(-2/-2) is either dubbled or tripled(according to the weapon which fired)?

This is the way to go right?

All the damage, from both the solid and the critical hit is doubled/tripled as appropriate, though the special effects of the crit are not doubled/tripled.

LBH
 
Was hoping you could provide clarification on the following:

GEG - States that "Damage and any special effects from critical hits, however, are never reduced..." Since Damage and Crew are defined separately, does this mean the Crew from a Critical Hit is reduced? Also, is the Damage from the Solid Hit that caused the Critical Hit reduced? If I'm correctly interpreting your intent, my suggested clarification would be, "Any Damage and/or Crew loss resulting from a roll on the Damage Table will be reduced by the GEG. Any Damage and/or Crew loss resulting from a roll on the Critical Hits tables will not be reduced by the GEG."

Self-Repairing and Shadows/Vorlons - Shadows and Vorlons automatically repair Critical Hit effects in the End Phase of the Turn after the effect was suffered. If a Vorlon/Shadow ship loses the Self-Repair trait as a result of a Critical Hit, can the ship Self-Repair in the same End phase that the Critical Hit is repaired?

Shadow Physical Disruption - When the description says "may take no further action", what exactly does that mean? Can the ship still Self-Repair and regenerate shields?
 
B5freak said:
Since Damage and Crew are defined separately, does this mean the Crew from a Critical Hit is reduced?
No. It's badly worded.

B5freak said:
Also, is the Damage from the Solid Hit that caused the Critical Hit reduced?
No. The damage still comes from a critical hit. There is no solid hit, only a critical which does the same damage as a solid hit but this damage is still from a critical hit, therefore not reduced by GEG.

B5freak said:
If I'm correctly interpreting your intent, my suggested clarification would be, "Any Damage and/or Crew loss resulting from a roll on the Damage Table will be reduced by the GEG. Any Damage and/or Crew loss resulting from a roll on the Critical Hits tables will not be reduced by the GEG."
Yes that wording would be better. Or just not writing "As solid hit" on the Attack Table (sidenote: why isn't this called the Damage Table?), instead write "-1 damage, -1 crew". This came up in 1e, I'm surprised it wasn't changed in 2e, I did point it out in tier 2 playtesting but they did nothing.

B5freak said:
Self-Repairing and Shadows/Vorlons - Shadows and Vorlons automatically repair Critical Hit effects in the End Phase of the Turn after the effect was suffered. If a Vorlon/Shadow ship loses the Self-Repair trait as a result of a Critical Hit, can the ship Self-Repair in the same End phase that the Critical Hit is repaired?
If the trait is online in the end phase, it can use it. So yes.

B5freak said:
Shadow Physical Disruption - When the description says "may take no further action", what exactly does that mean? Can the ship still Self-Repair and regenerate shields?
I would say yes because those abilities are automatic. Just like the Victory doesn't lose Adaptive Armour when it fires its Lightning Cannon.
 
Breaking stealth, what does that mean?, for the ship that fired, is it just a negative one to stealth for the ship that fired the mines, does anyone else get a bonus minus one, is stealth taken down to zero? Still too many questions.

The Minbari player in the campaign I am playing in would like further clarifiaction to the Q&A regarding energy mines and their affect on stealth. :twisted: :twisted:

Dave
 
Burger wrote:
B5freak wrote:
Since Damage and Crew are defined separately, does this mean the Crew from a Critical Hit is reduced?

No. It's badly worded.

B5freak wrote:
Also, is the Damage from the Solid Hit that caused the Critical Hit reduced?

No. The damage still comes from a critical hit. There is no solid hit, only a critical which does the same damage as a solid hit but this damage is still from a critical hit, therefore not reduced by GEG.

B5freak wrote:
If I'm correctly interpreting your intent, my suggested clarification would be, "Any Damage and/or Crew loss resulting from a roll on the Damage Table will be reduced by the GEG. Any Damage and/or Crew loss resulting from a roll on the Critical Hits tables will not be reduced by the GEG."

Yes that wording would be better. Or just not writing "As solid hit" on the Attack Table (sidenote: why isn't this called the Damage Table?), instead write "-1 damage, -1 crew". This came up in 1e, I'm surprised it wasn't changed in 2e, I did point it out in tier 2 playtesting but they did nothing.

B5freak wrote:
Self-Repairing and Shadows/Vorlons - Shadows and Vorlons automatically repair Critical Hit effects in the End Phase of the Turn after the effect was suffered. If a Vorlon/Shadow ship loses the Self-Repair trait as a result of a Critical Hit, can the ship Self-Repair in the same End phase that the Critical Hit is repaired?

If the trait is online in the end phase, it can use it. So yes.

B5freak wrote:
Shadow Physical Disruption - When the description says "may take no further action", what exactly does that mean? Can the ship still Self-Repair and regenerate shields?

I would say yes because those abilities are automatic. Just like the Victory doesn't lose Adaptive Armour when it fires its Lightning Cannon.


Sooooo, is that one player opinion or an official ruling?[/b]
 
B5freak said:
Sooooo, is that one player opinion or an official ruling?[/b]
It is one very experienced player's opinion. I do not work for Mongoose therefore cannot make official rulings :P

The first queestion is just obvious really.
The second and third have been answered on rulesmastes for 1e... assuming it's the same for 2e because none of the wording changed. Although it probably should have been clarified.
The fourth, is obvious too.
The fifth I am not so sure on, thats why I said "I would say".
 
DontFearDaReaper said:
Breaking stealth, what does that mean?, for the ship that fired, is it just a negative one to stealth for the ship that fired the mines, does anyone else get a bonus minus one, is stealth taken down to zero? Still too many questions.

The Minbari player in the campaign I am playing in would like further clarifiaction to the Q&A regarding energy mines and their affect on stealth. :twisted: :twisted:

Dave

what further clarification does he require?
 
what further clarification does he require?

I think he just wants it spelled out in black and white cause he doesn't like it and doesn't agree with it. I thought the question was answered pretty well myself.

Fire an Emine first at a stealth ship as it will count as having been fired at for the remainder of that turn. Subsequent attempts that turn to defeat the stealth of a ship will enjoy a +1 modifier. In short the formula for determining modifications for defeating stealth are:

Ship has been fired at this turn (if applicable) + firing ship close (if applicable) + any modifiers from scout ships

Isn't that correct?

Thanks!!

Dave
 
DontFearDaReaper said:
Ship has been fired at this turn (if applicable) + firing ship close (if applicable) + any modifiers from scout ships

Isn't that correct?

Yup thats it. Although don't forget there is also a negative modifier for being far away.

As for e-mines... Stealth offers no protection against a blast from an E-Mine. No Stealth roll needs to be made.
 
The entry says:
"..you may choose any one weapon system on any ships attacking the enemy target. You may re-roll Attack Dice for those weapon systems that fail to hit the target..."

Does this mean that I could nominate "Railguns against target X", and ALL ships firing Railguns against target X would get a re-roll, or just one ship? The plural in ships and weapon systems leads me to believe that it's all ships, but I'd like to be sure.

Thx,

freak

ps, if you're not providing an official answer, please say so at the beginning of your message, otherwise it just muddies the water.
 
I'm assuming you are talking about the scout trait?

I'm not official by the way... :wink:

A weapon system is defined as a single line in the ships weapon stats. So a ship might have Railguns in 4 arcs but they are 4 seperate weapon systems so only one would get the re-roll from the scout trait.

Also you decide what weapon system you will re-roll on a ship by ship basis, you don't declare it when making the scout roll. So you make your CQ check and then each ship firing at the "re-directed target" can choose any single weapon system to re-roll.
 
Wow, that's much more flexible than I originally thought. Could probably use a re-write for clarification though....
 
Now I'm confused. I thought the a scout's ability to redirect fire is meant that I declare a ship, where the weapons fire is redirected from and a weapon systems which scould hit better.

It's new for me that I could choose any weapon and that all nearby ships get the redirect bonus.

Could somebody please explain the redirect fire ability in deeper detail?
 
Back
Top