Condottiere
Emperor Mongoose
As I understand the text, you could install three independent single turrets on a seventy tonne hull.
I don't thingk so...Condottiere said:As I understand the text, you could install three independent single turrets on a seventy tonne hull.
Solomani666 said:I don't thingk so...Condottiere said:As I understand the text, you could install three independent single turrets on a seventy tonne hull.
That would require 3 firm points.
... and a ship of 70-99 tons has three Firmpoints.
AnotherDilbert said:We can certainly disagree, but I do not think the intent of the rules are unclear or unrealistic in this context.snrdg121408 said:We have met an impasse on the matter, per HG 2e a barbette is "effectively" a heavy "turret" and technically they are part of a modern naval turret.
Turret:
![]()
Heavy turret:
![]()
They do not use the same weapons...
The Following is pure opinion and should be read as such.snrdg121408 said:From PDF HG 2e p. 23 top of second column:
"A ship of less than 35 tons has one Firmpoint. A ship
of 35-70 tons has two Firmpoints, and a ship of 70-99
tons has three Firmpoints. Beyond this size, ships use
Hardpoints."
The instruction above is not clear in my opinion since the text states that hulls 35 to 70 tons have two firmpoints and 70 to 99 tons have three firmpoints.
As printed at first glance Condottiere's interpretation is, in my opinion, correct that a 70 d-ton can fit three firmpoints.
I believe that the publisher met that hulls greater than 70 to 99 d-tons can have three firmpoints, which means that a 70 d-ton hull can only have two firmpoints.
-Daniel- said:The Following is pure opinion and should be read as such.snrdg121408 said:From PDF HG 2e p. 23 top of second column:
"A ship of less than 35 tons has one Firmpoint. A ship
of 35-70 tons has two Firmpoints, and a ship of 70-99
tons has three Firmpoints. Beyond this size, ships use
Hardpoints."
The instruction above is not clear in my opinion since the text states that hulls 35 to 70 tons have two firmpoints and 70 to 99 tons have three firmpoints.
As printed at first glance Condottiere's interpretation is, in my opinion, correct that a 70 d-ton can fit three firmpoints.
I believe that the publisher met that hulls greater than 70 to 99 d-tons can have three firmpoints, which means that a 70 d-ton hull can only have two firmpoints.
As a GM I am often faced with such issues from the various rule sets I have GMed for. In the end I have realized that to worry about a rule such as this is a waste of my time. The intent is clear, 70 tons is the breaking point. And the real impact on a game is limited. If you made a 70 ton ship with three hardpoints how often would it really negatively impact an RPG session. Seldom I am sure. Unless you are playing a ship to ship battle every week, more often than not, it wouldn't even come up. So if you, as GM, want to allow a 70 ton ship to have three, go for it. If you want to limit them to two, go for it.
Either way, just have fun playing.![]()
The previous opinion has been brought to you by one old GM. Opinions of others may vary. :mrgreen:
Condottiere said:It probably is seventy tonnes, being both double the sum of thirty five, and rounding up of thirty three and a third, as well as sixty six and two thirds.
Condottiere said:One issue is that fixed mounts take no volume, in the rules.
So assuming that a barbette houses at least four tonnes of a weapon system, that's not just a free lunch, it's a Hometown buffet.
Quite, that is undefined. We only know that weapon and mount together has a size of 5 dT.snrdg121408 said:Based on p. 25 I do not see how one can assume that a barbette houses four d-tons of weapons when we know that a one d-ton turret can house up to three or four of the same weapons.
A barbette mounted to two firmpoints is still a movable mount, not a fixed mount. It holds two torpedoes (p26). A barbette always takes 5 dT.snrdg121408 said:Earlier in the thread I indicated that a fixed mount in my opinion probably could mount one torpedo launcher, which is what I guess is in a barbette. After some pondering I believe that the launcher has no reloads since according to p. 25 a torpedo barbette attached to a firmpoint, which per p. 24 is a fixed mount, holds three torpedoes.
AnotherDilbert said:Quite, that is undefined. We only know that weapon and mount together has a size of 5 dT.snrdg121408 said:Based on p. 25 I do not see how one can assume that a barbette houses four d-tons of weapons when we know that a one d-ton turret can house up to three or four of the same weapons.
A barbette mounted to two firmpoints is still a movable mount, not a fixed mount. It holds two torpedoes (p26). A barbette always takes 5 dT.snrdg121408 said:Earlier in the thread I indicated that a fixed mount in my opinion probably could mount one torpedo launcher, which is what I guess is in a barbette. After some pondering I believe that the launcher has no reloads since according to p. 25 a torpedo barbette attached to a firmpoint, which per p. 24 is a fixed mount, holds three torpedoes.