Concerns About Fedayeen

What issue !!!!!! i cant see one !!!!

rason why ready actions dont cary over is simply about preserving game speed.

setting up a bipod requires a ready action but once done you dont need to reset up bipod for rest of game unless you move.
 
Mr Evil said:
rason why ready actions dont cary over is simply about preserving game speed.
So putting a token on the board indicating a readied unit takes longer if it spans turns? :roll:
 
tneva82 said:
Mr Evil said:
rason why ready actions dont cary over is simply about preserving game speed.

Ready actions carrying over don't slow game down...

they do in 3k games when trying to work out whos on ready and who is not.

there is no reason to carry a ready over in current game thoug, well nothing a command unit cant do any way.

playing game around 3-4k you have enough to play with to not worry about alot of these issues people seem to be forming.
 
i think i might throw my 5c AUD into this.

cant we just wait till we get a hold of the actual rulebook to start crying about rules, not the double sided A3 sheet of paper :)

seriously, for such little rules, MGP have done a good job with keeping things simple, clear for 99% of the game

if something annoys you greatly, simply house rule it. That is what we have been doing at my FLGS and Gaming Club.

anyway, just my 5 cents. :D
 
msprange said:
Paladin said:
msprange said:
Umm, you are not forced to use them on the first action. . .
You are if they don't carry over to the next turn as Mongoose Steele & Chris has said.

Remember, it is possible to have three actions in a turn. . .
Right. See my example that included that above (c. pg4).

If I Ready on action 1, can 1 sniper shoot with the bonus on action 2 and another sniper that didn't shoot in action 2, shoot with the bonus on Action 3?
 
Paladin said:
msprange said:
Paladin said:
You are if they don't carry over to the next turn as Mongoose Steele & Chris has said.

Remember, it is possible to have three actions in a turn. . .
Right. See my example that included that above (c. pg4).

If I Ready on action 1, can 1 sniper shoot with the bonus on action 2 and another sniper that didn't shoot in action 2, shoot with the bonus on Action 3?

id say why whats the point, but if your oponent agrees then why not. personaly id ready, shoot then move into cover better of allocating both snipers at the unit leader than one per action.

on the other hand the bonus action is seperate to your 2 normal actions ie you could move and shoot with a unit. move 2 tanks then allocate the bonus action on the original unit to move them into cover. so in that mind its a no id say.

think this is the problem we try and play within the rules rather than push them to do what their not ment to do. rule of thumb id say is keep it simple, if it looks like you cant do it then you probably cant.
 
Paladin said:
If I Ready on action 1, can 1 sniper shoot with the bonus on action 2 and another sniper that didn't shoot in action 2, shoot with the bonus on Action 3?

Not sure what the rules state (* have only got the cards that Hiromoon has put upto read), but I would say that the snipper shouldn't get the bonus for the 3rd action. I see the ready action as him taking bead on his intended target.... then shooting in the next round with improved accuracy (the ability to nominate who he is shooting within the firezone).

Going off the cards that Hiromoon has put up the SAS sniper can only shoot once per turn anyway so its a moot point for them. As for the Fedayeen it says they need to take a ready action before they shoot.
It could be read that they need to take a ready action as the action they take before the shoot action, or as long as they are readied (if the 2nd I would then argue that like in SST once you use a readied ability you are no longer readied, such as with jump suits.)
There is no statement that says the sniper stay readied.... The MG ready rule says that the MG is setup with the ready action and remains setup untill it is moved. It specificaly says that the weapon remains readied... To me that means for the sniper to keep the bonus it should say something similar.

As for having 1 sniper who didn't fire... hmmm I am not sure but I would say he looses his ready status as ready is a unit action, not a model action... otherwise why couldn't some models move or fire when their mate was setting up his MG?

N.B. I am going off Hiromoons cards, and whilst I have yet to see them be wrong I accept that the wording on the real cards maybe different.
 
Paladin said:
msprange said:
Paladin said:
You are if they don't carry over to the next turn as Mongoose Steele & Chris has said.

Remember, it is possible to have three actions in a turn. . .
Right. See my example that included that above (c. pg4).

If I Ready on action 1, can 1 sniper shoot with the bonus on action 2 and another sniper that didn't shoot in action 2, shoot with the bonus on Action 3?

Good question. I would say no, it would have to come straight after the Ready action.
 
cordas said:
Not sure what the rules state (* have only got the cards that Hiromoon has put upto read), but I would say that the snipper shouldn't get the bonus for the 3rd action. I see the ready action as him taking bead on his intended target.... then shooting in the next round with improved accuracy (the ability to nominate who he is shooting within the firezone).
Agreed. However, turns are supposed to happen realtime/simultaneously to some degree. If I'm training my sights on a guy, it shouldn't matter if it's in my turn or yours that I'm tracking you to squeeze the trigger. At the start of my turn your guys didn't go into stasis to become easier to shoot. My ready action simulates taking aim as you've been moving and being focused during the portion of the 10 second turn. Should be irrelevant if 5 seconds is in turn 3 and 5 seconds is in turn 4.

Besides, if anything Readying at the end of my turn gives you a greater advantage because some oracle in the sky has alerted you that you should move out of LOS when your turn comes up.

However, if it's in the adv. rulebook there is no point in debating the point, it will have to be house ruled. Game on. Cheers!
 
Paladin, if you had three actions in a turn to spend (on 1 unit) and also keeping in mind what Matt has just let us know (double thanks on that, Matt), you should be able to stagger your sniper fire. Using two Squads (or Fire teams with snipers), the first action could be to spend a Ready for the 1st sniper (on team 1) while the 2nd sniper (on team 2) was advancing forward a bit. Then on the 2nd action the 1st sniper fires (ending his turn), while the 2nd sniper spends a Ready. The 2nd sniper could then shoot using the 3rd action bestowed upon that unit. This could all happen within a single turn, but you'd have to coordinate two separate units to achieve this. I'm also assuming here that since all models within a unit must act together, that these two snipers, as mentioned before, are within different Fire teams/Squads. The reason for all of this "planning" might be to take out a high-value target. Sure, you could just spend both snipers to attack on the same action, but if the dice approved you'd get two targets instead of maybe only one.
 
Paladin said:
Besides, if anything Readying at the end of my turn gives you a greater advantage because some oracle in the sky has alerted you that you should move out of LOS when your turn comes up.

Or it could be that readied does NOT carry over, simply to avoid the all knowing eye.... and the quirks that a turn based game create when trying to simulating real time combat.
 
BuShips said:
Paladin, if you had three actions in a turn to spend (on 1 unit) and also keeping in mind what Matt has just let us know (double thanks on that, Matt), you should be able to stagger your sniper fire. Using two Squads (or Fire teams with snipers), the first action could be to spend a Ready for the 1st sniper (on team 1) while the 2nd sniper (on team 2) was advancing forward a bit. Then on the 2nd action the 1st sniper fires (ending his turn), while the 2nd sniper spends a Ready. The 2nd sniper could then shoot using the 3rd action bestowed upon that unit. This could all happen within a single turn, but you'd have to coordinate two separate units to achieve this. I'm also assuming here that since all models within a unit must act together, that these two snipers, as mentioned before, are within different Fire teams/Squads. The reason for all of this "planning" might be to take out a high-value target. Sure, you could just spend both snipers to attack on the same action, but if the dice approved you'd get two targets instead of maybe only one.

That took some reading, but I think you mentioned the answer in there.... split the squad into its fire-teams (assuming the squad has fire teams the fedayeen don't) and use one fire team to ready shoot, the other fire team to move ready shoot. Simple :lol:
 
cordas said:
BuShips said:
Paladin, if you had three actions in a turn to spend (on 1 unit) and also keeping in mind what Matt has just let us know (double thanks on that, Matt), you should be able to stagger your sniper fire. Using two Squads (or Fire teams with snipers), the first action could be to spend a Ready for the 1st sniper (on team 1) while the 2nd sniper (on team 2) was advancing forward a bit. Then on the 2nd action the 1st sniper fires (ending his turn), while the 2nd sniper spends a Ready. The 2nd sniper could then shoot using the 3rd action bestowed upon that unit. This could all happen within a single turn, but you'd have to coordinate two separate units to achieve this. I'm also assuming here that since all models within a unit must act together, that these two snipers, as mentioned before, are within different Fire teams/Squads. The reason for all of this "planning" might be to take out a high-value target. Sure, you could just spend both snipers to attack on the same action, but if the dice approved you'd get two targets instead of maybe only one.

That took some reading, but I think you mentioned the answer in there.... split the squad into its fire-teams (assuming the squad has fire teams the fedayeen don't) and use one fire team to ready shoot, the other fire team to move ready shoot. Simple :lol:

Yes, but you fail to mention Matt's ruling (and me thanking him, doubly-so), the reminder that there is a rule limiting the Command bonus action to one unit only, the further reminder that all models within a unit must act together when deciding which action to take, and the advantage in being able to take out an enemy high-value model with the first or second sniper and possibly an additional model as well. In mentioning Squads as well as Fire Teams, that covered those Squads that cannot break down into smaller units, but yes, if you delete those thoughts you could distill it down to-

Unit 1= R,S, then Unit 2= M,R,S. Even simpler. So there. :lol:
 
Has been up for nearly 20 hours, and has spent 8 of those hours trying to teach 16-18 year olds IT on a friday, I can only handle simple at the moment.... It took me about 6 readings before I could understand what you where saying, so I decided to simplify it to something I could understand in my limited metal capacity. :lol:
 
cordas said:
Has been up for nearly 20 hours, and has spent 8 of those hours trying to teach 16-18 year olds IT on a friday, I can only handle simple at the moment.... It took me about 6 readings before I could understand what you where saying, so I decided to simplify it to something I could understand in my limited metal capacity. :lol:

No problem. As far as teaching those 16-18 year-olds IT (and keeping it simple), show them that the rear of some computer chassis have a rocker switch that even has instructions imprinted in binary for power status. They have a "I" for on and a "0" for off. I've solved a few issues using that technique over the years when helping folks. :wink:

There was one time when my old boss was building a computer on the bench next to me while I was working on another one. I began seeing that he was having a hard time getting it to power up, and he changed all of the parts out of the inside 2-3 times and it still would not fire up. He finally asked for help and knowing it couldn't be anything on the inside I took a look at the back of the power supply. I flipped the 220v switch over to 110v, pushed the button and it worked. He absolutely glared at me, embarrassed. I knew the problem couldn't be inside, and he was the sort that you didn't offer anything unless he asked, so I just waited until he asked. :roll:
 
That's right, especially if you have a command squad. But let's face facts, how you use your ready actions depends on what it does for the unit in question. So in infantry MG special rules it doesn't matter when the ready action is made, the MG is now set up and allowed bonus damage dice. As for sniper rifles it's not like you can actually anticipate the enemy's movement a turn ahead and zero in your sights, the ready action for the sniper rifle essentially represents the guy with the rifle taking aim.

Remember so far there are only two uses for ready actions (that I know of). One allows for continual benefits from the ready action the other is a one shot thing because it would be realistically. It will be how ready actions are used in the special rules on the cards that will make the difference.
 
Mr Evil said:
they do in 3k games when trying to work out whos on ready and who is not.

Maybe if players are blind and need to find it out by touch.

You forget that BF:EVO rules are based on old ruleset. They didn't slow game in SST and there's no reason to think they would in BF:Evo.

By your logic MG setup carrying over slows game down...
 
Back
Top