Combat in Traveller: some tactical principles

MonsterX

Cosmic Mongoose
Combat and Tactics in Mongoose 2E

I’ve been playing Mongoose Traveller for about 4 years now, and had time to come to some conclusions both about how the combat system works, and how people actually play it – and these are not always the same thing.

These observations are based on my experience, which is to say it is limited as I haven't played that many different kinds of campaign. Please contribute your insights into how Traveller combat tactics work.

In this post, I am assuming you are doing it using a map of some sort (rather than theater of the mind, which leaves much to the Referee’s discretion), and are using the Core Rulebook rules, including the Central Supply Catalogue, but not the Field Catalogue, which would introduce additional complexity (interesting complexity, but maybe too much of it). Also, it assumes that you are not using optional rules nor house rules.

The first rule is that there really are no tactics that cover every situation. It is very much dependent on the terrain, and on the equipment and skills of the combatants. A setting such as a fancy dinner gone wrong is very different from storming an enemy hideout which is very different from a street fight by rival gangs or a military skirmish in a wild forest. Terrain, rules of engagement, and the types of gear lead to different tactics coming into play.

On D&D "tactics"