Concerns About Fedayeen

Fed1 - Action 1 Moves. Action 2 Ready.
Fed2 - Action 1 Readies. Action 2 3 snipers fire on the enemy squad.

Fed1 - Action 1 - 2 of 3 snipers fire on the enemy squad. One holds his shot. Action 2. pick a new FZ. sniper 2 fires aimed shot and rest just shoot. Potentially taking out two squads in 1 round.
Fed2 - repeat last round. Taking out one unit per round.

================================
Example 2:
Fed1 - Action 1 your choice. Action 2 Ready.
Fed2 - Action 1 your choice. Action 2 Ready.

Fed1 - Action 1 - 2 of 3 snipers fire on the enemy squad. One holds his shot. Action 2. pick a new FZ. sniper 2 fires aimed shot and rest just shoot.
Fed2 - Action 1 - 1 of 3 snipers fire on the enemy squad. One holds his shot. Action 2. pick a new FZ. Last 2 sniper fires aimed shot and rest just shoot.

Remember, Ready Actions do NOT carry over from turn to turn in Evo. So it always has to be Ready - Fire for these sniper gents.

And, as an MEA player in my local circle, sure the Fedz are tough...but I have never seen them survive an entire battle. My technicals have tended to do far more damage than the snipers.

Cheers all,
Bry
 
So you have to keep Readying your SAWs? Or is the card overriding in that case only?

Do I lose the benefit of Covered Advance from the main rules since it's no longer my turn?

And Ready actions can't be taken on the second action?

Where is the rule for this?
 
Mongoose Steele said:
Remember, Ready Actions do NOT carry over from turn to turn in Evo. So it always has to be Ready - Fire for these sniper gents.

?? When did this happen? Besides, when I see "If a Ready action is taken before it shoots,...", my rules-lawyer powers kick in and I say "Well, I took a Ready action with these guys last week, remember? That's before now, so the Ready action was taken before the shot.". Even if you don't buy that one (and I don't expect anyone would), I don't see the word "immediately" before "before", so I would certainly allow Ready actions to carry over.

If the Ready is supposed to be immediately before the Shoot action, then Paladin's examples break down: you would need four actions to take out two specified targets that aren't in the same FZ. Is this one of those weaknesses we're supposed to discover?
 
Paladin said:
And Ready actions can't be taken on the second action?

Sure you CAN do ready action but barring setting up MG up(or similar actions) or in case you plan to use command bonus action there's no point.
 
Xorrandor said:
Mongoose Steele said:
Remember, Ready Actions do NOT carry over from turn to turn in Evo. So it always has to be Ready - Fire for these sniper gents.

?? When did this happen?

In the advanced rules I think.

Paladin said:
So you have to keep Readying your SAWs? Or is the card overriding in that case only?

Do I lose the benefit of Covered Advance from the main rules since it's no longer my turn?

And Ready actions can't be taken on the second action?

Where is the rule for this?

The SAW thing, no you keep the bonuns until the model moves, like it says on the cards. As for the covered aadvance, I won't know until I get the advanced Rules, hopefully at the ACTA tourney.

LBH
 
tneva82 said:
Paladin said:
And Ready actions can't be taken on the second action?

Sure you CAN do ready action but barring setting up MG up(or similar actions) or in case you plan to use command bonus action there's no point.

Pretty much....unless there's a re-roll in there somewhere...
 
lastbesthope said:
At least this has stopped all the whining about the EFTF Command Squad :lol:

LBH

and now you have stirred the pot again....... I still get whinnged about for mine and they haven't even arrived yet
 
lastbesthope said:
Well I was referring more to the complaints that they were overpowered/unbalanced :lol:

LBH
IN m experience they are pretty nasty *but* you can easily get to them with a technical or three... problem solved. :lol:

Nice pick up on the LOS rules too Paladin.

I'd have to say too that for me the feds have been a great addition to the game in so much as they are a great distraction for armour.That way my technicals can unleash hell on infantry models without having to worry abour what the armour will be going for. :wink:
 
On Ready actions not carrying over from turn to turn...

Paladin said:
So you have to keep Readying your SAWs? Or is the card overriding in that case only?

Consider the difference between "if a Ready action is taken before it shoots" (Fedayeen) and "if a Ready action is taken ... all subsequent Shoot actions" (EFTF Infantry, my emphasis).

Do I lose the benefit of Covered Advance from the main rules since it's no longer my turn?

Likewise, the rules specifically state how and when Covered Advance takes effect.

And Ready actions can't be taken on the second action?

Sure they can, but they are of limited use. See below.

Where is the rule for this?

Oddly enough I don't have a rules sheet handy so I can't confirm or deny its presence on one, but it's definitely in the main rulebook. Page 21.

What you have to remember is that the effects of a Ready action are not synonymous with the action itself. The Ready actions end when normal actions do, but the effects persist dependent on the special rule that you're invoking with the Ready.

Ready actions come in two 'flavours'. There's the Ready action that achieves something on its own (setting up a SAW, for example) and the Ready action that allows you to do something else with a following action (covered advance, sniping, etc.). In the latter case, the effect of the Ready action is 'allow you to do whatever with your next action', but this effect specifically does not carry over between turns.
 
I'm fine with the concept that a Ready only effects the next Action or is lost. But forcing it to be the first action of the turn only is a bit silly.
 
msprange said:
Umm, you are not forced to use them on the first action. . .
You are if they don't carry over to the next turn as Mongoose Steele & Chris has said.

Edit: emperorpenguin beat me to it.
 
i slap my head at times

guys read the cards please, i mean the real cards. i think confusions is causing further confusion, get a blank slate and read the rule on the card and it will make more sence.

still confused on the costing for the PLA, evan the pla command squad compared to the EFTF command squad seems over priced :( but il keep pluggin away. ie they dont get the 12" deployment nor the armour or the other fist bits, and their rifles have less range yet their more exspensive due to the extra guy !! id rather have armour and fist and more range than the extra guy thanks.
 
Mr Evil said:
i slap my head at times

guys read the cards please, i mean the real cards. i think confusions is causing further confusion, get a blank slate and read the rule on the card and it will make more sence.
No offense, but how is reading the card going to solve this issue?
 
Back
Top