Combat Damage

hdrider67

Banded Mongoose
I've tried for two days to pinpoint what it was bugging me about the combat system (besides ticks and I'm getting used to those) and it's the low point distribution of weapons.

I did a workup with a few combat sims and found that facing off against a high skill hombre means pretty much instant death (well, unconsciousness and it may as well be the same). MGT,RTT, whatever it's called adds ALL DMs for damage. A guy with a Gauss Pistol at optimum range (+2) aiming for a tick (+1) with Guns(SP)-3 (+3) will do 1d6+7+6=~17 points of damage.

If he wins initiative and you aren't armored, you are toast.

The gauss pistol (under these circumstances) will always do 14 minimum damage and maximum 19. That's freaking HUGE damage against someone with an average 8 stat since the average is so high.

While using one die to keep the numbers rolled down sounded good to me at first, it seems to really stack the weapon damage at the very high end.

I know it's a game but it's almost there's very little possibility of getting winged.

Funny enough, I'm not even playing by the death spiral rules. I can't imagine needing a system even more deadly. :)

I'm not sure if I would have a workable suggestion, though. Maybe only add the combat skill into the damage? Lower the effect of most weapons? Maybe even go back to throwing multiple dice without effect and then adding the DMs?

I kind of think futuristic weapons (and weapons in general) should be deadly. But this may be a bit too deadly. Might need to drop damage values on weapons a bit.

Allen

My big complaints about the damage system are simple:

By comparison to CT, MT, even TNE and T4, most of the damages have dropped the lower lobe of the probable damages.