I know I started the 'Movement Issues' thread, but I felt this charge issue needed its own thread. A lot of the other issues have been resolved, but there's one that keeps rearing its ugly head. We know the charge uses up all CAs of the charger. Basically, what's the charged target who has 4 CAs doing, when the charger with 3 CAs is just charging?
If the target can see the charger bearing down on him, on the surface, it looks like the charger attacks and has no CAs left, whereas the target chooses to parry, or attack back simultaneously, and has 3 CAs left.
Or, as the rules state, choosing to do nothing, costs a CA. In this case, every time the charger uses up a CA, the target gets a turn to choose a CA to do nothing (or something). This goes some way to resolving the issue, but it still begs the question, at what point in the charge does the charger's first CA, take place, and the second CA? What we did was to divide the charger's CAs by his maximum charge rate. So, for example, a charger with a charge move of 36, and 4 CAs, would expend them on 9m, 18m 27, and 36m whereupon he initiates his attack. This shows the target 'when' he gets to expend his CAs, even if they are used to do nothing.
If the target has more CAs than the charger, then the charger may find himself in trouble if he doesn't drop his charge target. If the charger has more CAs, then the charge target can always keep one CA back to attack back or defend against the charge.
I know people will say I'm over thinking things, but the fact remains, we use a combat board, and we were all scratching our head, and do so every time a charge is initiated.
The only other option we could come up with, was a charge uses up all of a charger's CAs, and all of a charge target's CAs. The target can however, still choose to move out of the way as the charger hurtles toward him.
If the target can see the charger bearing down on him, on the surface, it looks like the charger attacks and has no CAs left, whereas the target chooses to parry, or attack back simultaneously, and has 3 CAs left.
Or, as the rules state, choosing to do nothing, costs a CA. In this case, every time the charger uses up a CA, the target gets a turn to choose a CA to do nothing (or something). This goes some way to resolving the issue, but it still begs the question, at what point in the charge does the charger's first CA, take place, and the second CA? What we did was to divide the charger's CAs by his maximum charge rate. So, for example, a charger with a charge move of 36, and 4 CAs, would expend them on 9m, 18m 27, and 36m whereupon he initiates his attack. This shows the target 'when' he gets to expend his CAs, even if they are used to do nothing.
If the target has more CAs than the charger, then the charger may find himself in trouble if he doesn't drop his charge target. If the charger has more CAs, then the charge target can always keep one CA back to attack back or defend against the charge.
I know people will say I'm over thinking things, but the fact remains, we use a combat board, and we were all scratching our head, and do so every time a charge is initiated.
The only other option we could come up with, was a charge uses up all of a charger's CAs, and all of a charge target's CAs. The target can however, still choose to move out of the way as the charger hurtles toward him.