Hello dearest Travellers!
My Group and I (Gamemaster) played another Session yesterday and we had a nice little Space Combat. A TL-9 700t piece of spacejunk attacked the groups hard modded 200t Free/Far Trader.
After firing a few Salvos of Missiles they reached the medium range band and with that given the Gunner of our group fired with the double Beamlaser Turret at the Enemy ship and ... just one-hitted it! I've read in the rules again but found nothing. And now I'm asking myself: did I miss something in the rules?
To be clear: I don't want to talk about "How bad the rules are" or "How we can alter them in a good manner". I really just want to know if I did everything right or if I missed something in the rules.
So that's what happend in numbers:
Pilot did a "Aid Gunner" manoeuver. With an effect of 7 so it gave them a +3 from the task chain table. -> +3
The Gunner used Beam Lasers -> +4
Gunner Dex + Skill -> +3
So he had a DM +10 and rolled a 5 and a 6 -> 11+10 = 21
The Enemy Pilot tried to evade -> -1
So we had a roll of 20, what means an effect of 12 and he rolled a 3 for damage +1 because of the second beam laser. Makes 3+1+12 = 16
The enemy ship had 4 armor. They failed their Sandcaster (bad luck, but even with Sand they would not necessary have reduced the damage below 1)
As far as I understand as long as we do 1 point of damage it is only the effect of the attack roll that determine if it is a critical hit or not.
Well with an effect of 12 it would be clearly a critical hit with a Serverity of 12-5 = 7. And the dices diced that it went straight to the Powerplant (rolled a 3)
From Severity 4+ it says Power is 0. What means: Lights out it's over.
I mean: Yes they did very good dice rolls. But I'm still not sure if I did everything right.
Even if I missed someting I will not retcon anything because it was a really cool scene
My Group and I (Gamemaster) played another Session yesterday and we had a nice little Space Combat. A TL-9 700t piece of spacejunk attacked the groups hard modded 200t Free/Far Trader.
After firing a few Salvos of Missiles they reached the medium range band and with that given the Gunner of our group fired with the double Beamlaser Turret at the Enemy ship and ... just one-hitted it! I've read in the rules again but found nothing. And now I'm asking myself: did I miss something in the rules?
To be clear: I don't want to talk about "How bad the rules are" or "How we can alter them in a good manner". I really just want to know if I did everything right or if I missed something in the rules.
So that's what happend in numbers:
Pilot did a "Aid Gunner" manoeuver. With an effect of 7 so it gave them a +3 from the task chain table. -> +3
The Gunner used Beam Lasers -> +4
Gunner Dex + Skill -> +3
So he had a DM +10 and rolled a 5 and a 6 -> 11+10 = 21
The Enemy Pilot tried to evade -> -1
So we had a roll of 20, what means an effect of 12 and he rolled a 3 for damage +1 because of the second beam laser. Makes 3+1+12 = 16
The enemy ship had 4 armor. They failed their Sandcaster (bad luck, but even with Sand they would not necessary have reduced the damage below 1)
As far as I understand as long as we do 1 point of damage it is only the effect of the attack roll that determine if it is a critical hit or not.
Well with an effect of 12 it would be clearly a critical hit with a Serverity of 12-5 = 7. And the dices diced that it went straight to the Powerplant (rolled a 3)
From Severity 4+ it says Power is 0. What means: Lights out it's over.
I mean: Yes they did very good dice rolls. But I'm still not sure if I did everything right.
Even if I missed someting I will not retcon anything because it was a really cool scene