New to RQII

Piperdog

Mongoose
Hey all! I am new to RQII (and all d100 style systems) and am really impressed. I have played Gurps for years, another "roll under skill" type of system, and of course, played and run a boatload of other systems. I am not sure why, really, but I was always turned off by RuneQuest. At any rate, I got RuneQuest II on a whim, and I am floored by how cool this is.

I need to spend time reading these forums so I don't ask redundant questions, but as it stands right now, I have quite a few questions about CA's and CM's.

I was reading the Combat Issues thread, and that helped so far. I was hoping an industrious soul would write a more in depth article on Combat Manuevers; it would be great to have an experienced GM give the run down on the manuever, explaining when it is most effective, or when it is ineffective, in a variety of tactical situations.

At any rate, this is good stuff. I would like to run something soon, but don't quite have the rules down yet. The basics, skill use, opposed tests, etc are no problem. Just the CA's and Manuevers are hanging me up a bit at this point.

There's a very nice example of a Combat from pages 97-99 in the MRQ2 core rules.
It narrates a combat and describes the rules behind all that blow for blow (including detailed descriptions of Combat actions, Combat maneuvers).
A very informative read.

I'd suggest inviting a friend or 2 around for a night generating characters and run some test combats.

I've run Various incarnations of Runequest and Elric/Stormbringer since 1st Edition Stormbringer many years ago.
MRQ2, whilst essentially the same system has quite a few changes in the mechanics, so I won't be confident in running it in a proper gaming session until I run a few test combats and stuff.

danskmacabre said:
I'd suggest inviting a friend or 2 around for a night generating characters and run some test combats.