Final Victory - Official CTA Tournament - May 5th

Alexb83 said:
Can vorlon/shadow/ISA ships damaged in battle 3 self repair whilst in hyperspace for first/second/whatever turn during battle 4?

Sounds like it would make sense - but then they should be able to repair between battles - except that would make them too hard...........

Under the Jump Points FAQ it says:

Ships in Hyperspace may only take a turn in the Initiative order (acting as "initiative sinks") if they perform the Initiate Jump Point Special Order. Otherwise they are ignored.

so I don't know!? Anyone better informed?
 
Da Boss said:
Under the Jump Points FAQ it says:

Ships in Hyperspace may only take a turn in the Initiative order (acting as "initiative sinks") if they perform the Initiate Jump Point Special Order. Otherwise they are ignored.
That sounds pretty clear to me. They are ignored = they do not self-repair. Of course they can use the IJP! special order, but not come through into real-space... in which case they are not ignored, so would get their self-repair, whilst remaining in hyperspace. Just that the enemy will know where you're going to appear.

Might not make sense but thats what the rules say. So you ancient players will have to lurk at the back of the board for a few turns at the start of the game, to repair ;)
 
is the shadow Omega legal for use in this tourney?

Burgers stats upto date?

http://members.lycos.co.uk/chburger/index.html
 
Yes Shadow Omega would be legal in a 3rd Age EA fleet, no reason why not ;)

AFAIK my stats are correct, at least no-one has reported otherwise... I'm AFB right now so can't check. Stats are in Armageddon, and haven't been updated in any S&P.
 
Burger said:
Might not make sense but thats what the rules say. So you ancient players will have to lurk at the back of the board for a few turns at the start of the game, to repair ;)

I would've been more inclined to say that the rule says they're ignored for the purposes of taking initiative, which is what the rule specifically refers to.
The ships still exist, and the Self Repairing trait rule says that the ships with the trait are repaired automatically in the end phase of every turn, with no listed exlusions.
If Matt is going to rule against this for the tournament, I would suggest it be an update for 2e that they be allowed - I can't see why races with mastery of hyperspace couldn't repair their ships whilst they were in it.
 
supposedly there are still 2 place left for this tourney. well there were lst night anyway, so dont think you have missed out, come along and have some fun.
 
I need to pull out of this because of personal reasons - I am sorry for the short notice and hope you all have fun.
 
Another quick rules clarification, a VCD on the turn it fires it's Lightning Cannon, can it use interceptors?

The rules say no other weapons that turn, but interceptors aren't a weapon.

Just thinking about it before I finalise whether I'm taking 0, 1 or 2 of them in my tourney fleet.

LBH

EDIT: Breakfast thread started here:

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=388262

LBH
 
Hash said:
I need to pull out of this because of personal reasons - I am sorry for the short notice and hope you all have fun.

Hash, NO !!!!! I was looking forward to thrashing your Green Drazi Butt, now what am I going to do?

Cpt K
 
Captain Kremmen said:
Hash said:
I need to pull out of this because of personal reasons - I am sorry for the short notice and hope you all have fun.

Hash, NO !!!!! I was looking forward to thrashing your Green Drazi Butt, now what am I going to do?

Cpt K

Sorry mate, can't be helped...next time though hopefully :)
 
lastbesthope said:
Another quick rules clarification, a VCD on the turn it fires it's Lightning Cannon, can it use interceptors?

The rules say no other weapons that turn, but interceptors aren't a weapon.

Just thinking about it before I finalise whether I'm taking 0, 1 or 2 of them in my tourney fleet.

LBH

EDIT: Breakfast thread started here:

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=388262

LBH

I believe that was rulesmastered somewhere LBH that the victory cannot use its interceptors.
 
LBH, I believe the exact wording is "nothing, nada, zilch". So fairly obviously, no interceptors. Adaptive Armour stays though.
 
Burger, the exact wording is:

If the Lightning Cannon is fired, the Victory may not fire any other weapons and will be moved forward 4" next turn. However, it then cannot do anything else (except take damage) until after the End Phase of the enxt turn. Nothing. Nadda. Zilch.

Although I'm sure it was ruled that Adaptive Armour still applies.

From reading that, the nothing, nadda, zilch seems to apply to the turn after it has fired and is drifting, hence my question.

Also, if you take a personality, can you swap what ship they are on between games?

Time for a quick email to Matt methinks.

LBH
 
Here's what Matt says on the questions

1) Can the Victory fire interceptors on the turn it fires the Lightning
Cannon?

"If the Lightning Cannon is fired, the Victory may not fire any other
weapons and will be moved forward 4" next turn. However, it then cannot do
anything else (except take damage) until after the End Phase of the next
turn. Nothing. Nadda. Zilch."

Obviously it can do nothing the turn after it fires.

Either way, does Adaptive Armour still apply?

>>> Yes and yes (don't get used to it, the Lightning Cannon becomes
>>> draconian in 2e!).

2) I'm taking ISA and was considering taking Sheridan. Given he'll end up
being on a VCD or a WS, the cost to field him is identical, 1 Raid point.
Could he be swapped between ships between games so as to serve on a WS in
Game 1 and 2 and then on a VCD in Games 3 and 4?

>>> No. Pick a ship and stick with it. Incidentally, someone took
>>> Sheridan in the last tournament, and did not do too badly. . .

Matthew

So yes to interceptors in the turn the VCD fires its LC. Yay!!!! I wish I could field 3

LBH
 
That makes no sense. Why would interceptors still work for the remainder of the turn in which you fire the Lightning Cannon, but suddely stop the next turn...

Oh well the great maker's word is final, I guess. Hope this silly bug is fixed in 2e...
 
yeah am sure that the SFOS victory stated you cuoldnt use interceptors, the armageddon one says nothing. we did have the AA debate a while back too. dont see how interceptors would work as they have to rotate and track targets etc.

this was where debated before:
http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=21581
 
Yeah I remember the AA debate, since that is a hull plating then it stays active.

The SFOS Victory could even fire the rest of its weapons in the same turn as the LC, so there has obviously been a change here... but the interceptors staying online in the same turn that the LC is fired, but then going offline the next turn, flies in the face of common sense.
 
Back
Top