Allocation of Damage Dice

Using different colored dice is nearly mandatory for different weapons in the fire zone.

As far as "explosive" weapons like the m256 gun the damage dice are "extra" (per their card) and should be allocated after all dice from normal firing.

Please note that the entire tone of the section on shooting is written to the person making a shoot action. It is not unclear at all. Only in the last sentance does it tell your "opponent" to roll an armor save.
 
Isn't that a 40K rule? I don't see that in the BFE rule sheet I have.
Mr Evil said:
once all modles in firezone and los have recieved a dice a seconf dice is put on each and so on till you run out, so guys in the front are lkly to be hit more than guys at the back
 
Mr Evil said:
you guys make my head hurt !!

I'm a computer programmer, which means I deconstruct annoying grammar constructions for a living. My only headache is doing it in English instead of a designed language like C... :)
 
Xorrandor said:
Elvis in Combat said:
If you would be so kind as to point to where in the MG special rule one is allowed to allocate damage dice to models, then I would be greatly appreciative. It clearly doesn't do so here:

The 'card specific weapon' Rules said:
If every model in the target unit is assigned two or more Damage Dice when this weapon is used, the unit will lose two actions from Suppression, rather than just one.

You are given a choice in where to allocate Damage Dice, once every model in the Fire Zone has been allocated a single one. This is in the basic rules. So, for my example of 6 Damage Dice against a three man fire team, you could allocate 4 dice to one model and 1 to each of the other two, or 2 dice to each model. In the first case you might get a higher chance of killing the target model (although not likely, since the 3 highest Damage Dice have to target different models) while single-suppressing the unit, in the second case you double-suppress the unit.

I agree with Xorrander's basic (no offense) reading of this, but think it goes a bit deeper.

In order to suppress you mearly need to put down more dd (less dice that roll natural 1s) than there are models in the target squad.

To doubly suppress from 1 fire action you need to have:
1. a gun that uses the MG / DS rule.
2. you have too put 2 dd on every model in the squad. If one model in the squad is outside the firezone then they can not be DS.
3. It doesn't matter where the dd came from, as long the MG was part of the firing.
 
cordas said:
I agree with Xorrander's basic (no offense) reading of this, but think it goes a bit deeper.

In order to suppress you mearly need to put down more dd (less dice that roll natural 1s) than there are models in the target squad.

To doubly suppress from 1 fire action you need to have:
1. a gun that uses the MG / DS rule.
2. you have too put 2 dd on every model in the squad. If one model in the squad is outside the firezone then they can not be DS.
3. It doesn't matter where the dd came from, as long the MG was part of the firing.

Agreed... almost. On point 3, it does matter where the dd came from: dd from the MG count as two for purposes of Supression. So a single die from the MG will could for fulfilling point 2. (I'm not 100% sure of this, though.)
 
Xorrandor said:
Agreed... almost. On point 3, it does matter where the dd came from: dd from the MG count as two for purposes of Supression. So a single die from the MG will could for fulfilling point 2. (I'm not 100% sure of this, though.)

Err not sure. Its 2 DD that are needed for DS, not 2 suppresion dice (as fired by an MG).

Each MG shot means you can suppress larger units easier not that you can achieve DS easier.
 
cordas said:
3. It doesn't matter where the dd came from, as long the MG was part of the firing.

That is how we are playing it here. Since the act of using a weapon generally means you create a firing zone with other weapons. I could see that concept lawyerd either way though...
 
Xorrandor said:
As I say, I'm not sure either, and wouldn't have a problem if it got ruled either way.

No probs either way, I just think when it states that 2 DD per every model in the unit to acheive DS, then says that each DD done by the MG counts as 2 in terms of suppression that they are talking about different things.
 
Back
Top