A couple of BF EVO questions (NEW Qs 28th Mar 1749 UTC)

lastbesthope

Mongoose
Apologies if people have asked these before but I looked at existing threads and got confused so here goes:

Question the first : Cover

"BF Evo Rulesheet said:
For the purposes of Line of Sight, a fi ring model may ‘see through’ any Cover within a number of inches equal to its Size score. It may also ‘see
through’ any Cover within a number of inches to the target model that is equal to the target model’s Size score. Models, if within terrain, may
always claim Cover rather than just have an obscured Line of Sight.

So does this mean that a Size 4 Challenger II can see a size 1 Infantryperson at a distance of 5" when both are in cover?

DOes it mean that an infantryman at the edge of a patch of woods (outside the woods) can see an infantryman 2" into the woods?

If not what does it mean?


Question the first : Reactions
I notice that it states what can and can't be done as a reaction for the vehicles. Is it always explicitly stated what a vehicle can and can't do by way of reaction. (No reactions from my Warrior :cry: )

Thanks, looking for a Mongoose official answer on these.

LBH
 
Thanks for the answers Matt.

One more question/clarification:

Obscured: Terrain interrupts Line of Sight but both models can still partially see one another (that is, terrain hides part of the target model). The target gains a +1 bonus to its Target score.

So if an enemy unit can see, for example, just the barrel of a tank, or the aerials on a Warrior, does that mean it;'s just obscured rather than blocked?

Thanks

LBH
 
[Han Solo]
Damnit, I just knew you were going to say that!
[/Han Solo]

Remind me to park my Warrior behind something very tall :lol:

LBH
 
This is good to know, a few people were thinking along the lines of ACTA where the model doesn't matter, only the center point.
 
Question number 4, and again apologies if it's been asked already:

4) Obscured only boosts +1 to Target score.

Cover adds +2 to Target and Kill Scores.

So Obscured gives no bonus to kill score?


I know, I know, play the rules as written, I'm just checking they're written right :lol:

ANd also, I'd like to thank everyone who's been helping answer my questions on these boards. I jumped into this game a little late, having been largely ignoring the BF Evo area of the forums until the Open Day last Saturday. I haven't jumped into a Mongoose game so quickly since Armageddon 2089 or ACTA

LBH
 
Correct, obscurement only gives a +1 to target.

But since you usually have guys ahead of you in full cover, usually the guys in back get the low rolling dice where that +1 is enough to save them.

I know my PLA really rely on obscurement, since only a few lead guys can get into cover and spaced out well enough to avoid blast damage. Most of my squad is well behind the cover getting only obscurement.

I have a question of my own though: If a model is caught in a blast from say a grenade launcher, do they get the cover bonus or not?
 
Turtle said:
I have a question of my own though: If a model is caught in a blast from say a grenade launcher, do they get the cover bonus or not?

If they are within Cover (such as in a wood), yes. If they are just behind a wall, and the grenade goes off behind it as well, no.
 
Thanks for that Matt, here comes another one:

6) Rules clarification: When using a ready action to set up a machine gun
for firing next time, can you alter your facing as part of the ready action
or are you stuck with the facing you had at the end of your last move action?

LBH
 
I thought so MAtt, thanks for the answers. The tactic occurs to me to get round it almost though. Move to your facing and then ready so you get the extra damage dice on your shoot reaction if you get one.

Couple more clarification points/questions:

7) One more about the Minimi Para. Does the "Each dice counts as two for
suppression" only apply if the weapon has been readied? I think so, but
there is a niggle of doubt in my mind.

8 ) I have a unit of 4 infantry Troopers A, B, C and D. They come upon a target squad of infantry W, X, Y and Z. A, B, C & D pick there fire zone at a point between W, X, Y and Z which places all 4 targets in the Fire Zone. All 4 have LoS to the Fire Zone centre. However, due to terrain, A & B can only see W and X, similarly C&D can only see Y & Z. SO can A&B only roll Damage Dice against W and X, similarly for C, D vs Y,Z. Or can all squad members assign Damage Dice to all 4 targets within the fire zone.

9) When checking if a model has LoS to a target, Los must be taken from the centre of the model, not just any part of it (like the corner of a tank. (I remember sort of peeking out my tank in my PLA vs USMC game, since the corner of the tank was peeking out from the corner of a building. though I suppose that was possible due to being able to see my size score through cover), or would a building completely block line of sight except from the centre of my model?

Sorry, 9's a long one.

LBH
 
And another two:

10) If an infantry squad are in a transport, can they use their reaction to get out of the transport? And presumably that would count as their action for that turn in the case of a Warrior APC?

11) When allocating dice to targets in a Fire Zone do dice that are not a 1, but not high enough to meet the hit target still count towards suppression? I think yes but wanted to check.

Cheers

LBH
 
7. Yes - 'in addition. . .'

8. Yes, they all allocate dice together, as they are always rolled together (you'll find this all evens out during play).

9. Using the basic rules sheet, the building would block LOS, unless you are within a number of inches equal to youre Size score.

10. They cannot react, as the models are not on the table!

11. Yes (bullets flying overhead!). This is why we specifically say discard 1's.
 
We'll be posting a tournament/open day schedule for the rest of the year, just as soon as our printing facility is up and running (within the next month!).
 
Cool, now if you can just make sure that the weekends of MAy 12th and 26th are not scheduled for tourneys/open days I'll be a happy traineee Mongoose :lol:

Spanish F1 and a mate's wedding in that order. I don't want to miss another wedding, unless CC is there of course (Just kidding, I'm not misisng this one)

LBH
 
Q12: PLA squad is firing on enemy unit A, but also catches enemy one of enemy unit B's models in the fire zone.

PLA shoots with enough damage dice to suppress both unit A and B separately, but not combined. Are both units still suppressed even though unit B had only 1 model in the fire zone?
 
Turtle said:
Q12: PLA squad is firing on enemy unit A, but also catches enemy one of enemy unit B's models in the fire zone.

PLA shoots with enough damage dice to suppress both unit A and B separately, but not combined. Are both units still suppressed even though unit B had only 1 model in the fire zone?

No, the whole unit would have to be allocated dice.
 
Back
Top