A couple of BF EVO questions (NEW Qs 28th Mar 1749 UTC)

Okay so, expanding on that question, say that PLA unit rolled 8 damage dice, no ones. The enemy squad A has 8 members. Since that lone guy from enemy squad B pulled one damage die away from squad A, would squad A not be suppressed? Or, since they were all under the firezone, would they still be suppressed.

The same PLA squad is firing as a USMC squad and catches only two guys due to their 12" radius command range.

All the dice are still assigned to that unit, but only those two guys. Is the unit suppressed? Or, would I have to catch the entire squad under the fire zone?
 
msprange said:
lastbesthope said:
Spanish F1

In past years I would have sympathised, but just cannot raise any interest this season. . .

Well it's more of an excuse to go for a week long piss up with cars involved than anything else. :lol:

ANd to clarify your answer to 12 (Let's call this one 12B and Turtle's 12A )

msprange said:
Turtle said:
Q12: PLA squad is firing on enemy unit A, but also catches enemy one of enemy unit B's models in the fire zone.

PLA shoots with enough damage dice to suppress both unit A and B separately, but not combined. Are both units still suppressed even though unit B had only 1 model in the fire zone?

No, the whole unit would have to be allocated dice.

According to the rulesheet:

If a unit is allocated at least as many damage dice in a single Shoot action as it had models then it will immediately lose its next action, and may only Move as a reaction.

Reading the "Rules as written" if you allocate 4 damage dice to 3 models of a unit (Say Team 1 of Brit infantry operating on their own), then since you have allocated 4 Damage Dice even if only to 3 models in the unit, then that unit should be suppressed. The rules say as many Damage Dice as models, not 1 per model in the unit.

:?:

LBH
 
Turtle said:
Okay so, expanding on that question, say that PLA unit rolled 8 damage dice, no ones. The enemy squad A has 8 members. Since that lone guy from enemy squad B pulled one damage die away from squad A, would squad A not be suppressed? Or, since they were all under the firezone, would they still be suppressed.

The same PLA squad is firing as a USMC squad and catches only two guys due to their 12" radius command range.

All the dice are still assigned to that unit, but only those two guys. Is the unit suppressed? Or, would I have to catch the entire squad under the fire zone?

Squad A would not be supressed. Though if machine guns were fired while readied, there'd be "bonus" supression dice.
 
lastbesthope said:
Reading the "Rules as written" if you allocate 4 damage dice to 3 models of a unit (Say Team 1 of Brit infantry operating on their own), then since you have allocated 4 Damage Dice even if only to 3 models in the unit, then that unit should be suppressed. The rules say as many Damage Dice as models, not 1 per model in the unit.

No, sorry, you are right, I misunderstood the question. You are correct here.
 
And someone brought up the rules addition to the MG where if every model is allocated 2 dice it gets suppressed, not just if the unit is allocated. This seems to mean that you can only get double suppression on an MG shooting action if you have the entire enemy unit in the fire zone and attack with twice as many damage dice.

However, if you don't have all of the unit under the fire zone, it only counts as normal suppression.

Is this correct?
 
That is indeed correct.

It should be noted that, thus far, we have detected _no_ typos in either the rules sheet or unit cards (we worked hard on that!), so they can be trusted, as written. . .
 
msprange said:
That is indeed correct.

It should be noted that, thus far, we have detected _no_ typos in either the rules sheet or unit cards (we worked hard on that!), so they can be trusted, as written. . .

/does a double take

Ok what have you done with the real Mongoose proofreaders then? :P

Seriously though excellent job so far, hope this is a sign of things to come (especially for the advanced rulebook and ACTA 2nd Ed) :D
 
msprange said:
That is indeed correct.

It should be noted that, thus far, we have detected _no_ typos in either the rules sheet or unit cards (we worked hard on that!), so they can be trusted, as written. . .

Sorry to shoot that one down Matt, but there is a slight typo in the fluff text under the Challenger II photo on it's unit card.

Plated in second generation CHOBAM armour, the Challenger II is one of the best-protected tanks in] ever designed.

Not in any way important to the rules or playing the game though :lol:

Thanks for all your quick answers Matt, most of my questions have been to check I'm reading the rules correctly. I keep reading to try and find more nuances, but they aren't there, The rules are really that simple to
understand, but allow enough room for complex tactical manoeuvring. My
congratulations to all those involved in their production.

Now to check a few things are being understood correctly in my brain:

To suppress a unit you need to allocate as many damage dice to models in
that unit as there are models in the unit, though not every model in the
unit need be allocated a damage dice. Example, assigning 4 Damage Dice to 3
members of British Infantry Squad Fire Team 1 operating alone would suppress
the unit.

Special Double suppression, from weapons such as the Minimi Para or the
Chain Gun on a Challenger 2. To double suppress a unit you must allocate 2 dice to each and every model in the unit whilst using such a weapon. So you could not double suppress a unit unless every model in the unit has 2 (or more) dice allocated to them (including the effects of dice that count double for suppression).

If I have that right, can I check I understand the following correctly:

13) If I fire say, an AG36, that has 'secondary effect' those extra damage
dice count towards suppression? Even if the models affected are outside the Fire Zone?

14) You can't 'double suppress' by sheer force of arms in one shoot action
unless you have a special weapon rule that allows it. Example, I unload an 6 Brit Infantry Riflemen with L85A2s on to 2 remaining PLA soldiers. All 6 dice are allocated, but since I have no special rule weapons allowing double suppression, the suppression only counts for 1 action, even though I allocated more than twice the number of dice.

EDIT: This came up in another thread:

15) A Brit Inf squad has taken a ready action, so the Minimi gunner is readied. If the next action the unit takes is a Move action (all models in the unit must take the same action) but the Minimi gunner doesn't move, does he still get the bonus dice when shooting. I'd say yes (the Minimi model hasn't moved), but people asked for clarification

Thanks again

LBH
 
So, does this also mean that command squads inside transports cannot use their special abilities (because they're not on the table if they're inside a transport)?
10) If an infantry squad are in a transport, can they use their reaction to get out of the transport? And presumably that would count as their action for that turn in the case of a Warrior APC?

10. They cannot react, as the models are not on the table!
 
msprange said:
That is indeed correct.

It should be noted that, thus far, we have detected _no_ typos in either the rules sheet or unit cards (we worked hard on that!), so they can be trusted, as written. . .

Well, it's typos I'm not worried about. It's just that with rules written so concisely as these, where single words can change a rule drastically, it's important to make sure I've interpreted things correctly if I'm to be running demos.

Perhaps a FAQ should be published containing often asked, or often missed about the rules. Not just errata, but actual answered questions.
 
Unit A is in Cover.

It is Charged by Unit B.

After Unit B moves, Unit A reacts with a Shoot action and Suppresses Unit B.

Does Unit B finish the Charge action or does it count as its lost action?

Mike Z
(my first post on a message board located outside the USA)
 
Galactic Fatt Patt said:
Concerning cover.
If my unit is hiding behind the corner of a building. NO LOS. But within the an inch from the edge. Can someone shoot at them?

In my opininon, only if what is shooting is close enough and big enough to see 'through' the thivkness of cover that the building is providing from the shooter position. Even if the shooter can get LOS to a firing zone at the corner of the building they can't hit you as the models must be in the FZ and within LOS, of course 'splash weapons' can get round this (E.g. AG36 UGL)

I've lost count of what question we're up to so here's a few more clarifications for you Matt:

First ) What happens if you want to break Fire Team 2 off after the corporal has
been killed, do you simply designate another figure as team leader and split
at the start of a turn as normal, or do you need to split the Fire team off,
then wait 2 actions as the fire team leader is lost and then designate one
of the surviving minis as team leader.
I'd guess the first option, split as normal.

Second) AG36 and other weapons with secondary effects that the
secondary effects have the bonus to Armour save unless explicitly stated (As in the case of the Challenger 2 Main Gun). (I know, play the rules as written)

Thanks Matt

LBH
 
Another question: How exactly do the machineguns on the Abrams work? the .50 and one of the MGs are capable of making their own firezone, so I assume the second MG is slaved to the main gun (like the chain gun on the Chally), but it's not spelled out clearly on the card. Assuming thats the case, can the slaved MG fire independently of the main gun (in reactions, for example)?
 
Im guessing no it cant fire in reaction as with the Chally (reaction shooting is too quick to bring the turret to bear). Still want me an official answer to this though :D
 
Galactic Fatt Patt said:
Concerning cover.
If my unit is hiding behind the corner of a building. NO LOS. But within the an inch from the edge. Can someone shoot at them?

Yes - assume they have AP type ammo, or there are firing holes in the brickwork, etc.

Note: In the advanced rulebook, it _is_ possible to have 'solid' cover that would not allow this.
 
Mike Zebrowski said:
Unit A is in Cover.

It is Charged by Unit B.

After Unit B moves, Unit A reacts with a Shoot action and Suppresses Unit B.

Does Unit B finish the Charge action or does it count as its lost action?

Mike Z
(my first post on a message board located outside the USA)

Lost action - the effects of Suppression take effect immediatly (assault cover in force!).
 
lastbesthope said:
First ) What happens if you want to break Fire Team 2 off after the corporal has
been killed, do you simply designate another figure as team leader and split
at the start of a turn as normal, or do you need to split the Fire team off,
then wait 2 actions as the fire team leader is lost and then designate one
of the surviving minis as team leader.
I'd guess the first option, split as normal.

Second) AG36 and other weapons with secondary effects that the
secondary effects have the bonus to Armour save unless explicitly stated (As in the case of the Challenger 2 Main Gun). (I know, play the rules as written)

1. There is no Corporal, so you cannot split off.

2. Correct, play the rules as written :)
 
Locutus9956 said:
Im guessing no it cant fire in reaction as with the Chally (reaction shooting is too quick to bring the turret to bear). Still want me an official answer to this though :D

This is correct. The coaxial MG cannot react.

Basically, you can assume that tanks and other armoured vehicles cannot react, period, unless they have pintle mounts.
 
lastbesthope said:
14) You can't 'double suppress' by sheer force of arms in one shoot action
unless you have a special weapon rule that allows it. Example, I unload an 6 Brit Infantry Riflemen with L85A2s on to 2 remaining PLA soldiers. All 6 dice are allocated, but since I have no special rule weapons allowing double suppression, the suppression only counts for 1 action, even though I allocated more than twice the number of dice.


15) A Brit Inf squad has taken a ready action, so the Minimi gunner is readied. If the next action the unit takes is a Move action (all models in the unit must take the same action) but the Minimi gunner doesn't move, does he still get the bonus dice when shooting. I'd say yes (the Minimi model hasn't moved), but people asked for clarification

14. Not actually a question, but as a statement, it cannot be faulted.

15. Correct, it hasn't moved. Rules as written.
 
Back
Top