A couple of BF EVO questions (NEW Qs 28th Mar 1749 UTC)

docrailgun said:
So, does this also mean that command squads inside transports cannot use their special abilities (because they're not on the table if they're inside a transport)?

Correct.
 
Can you still fire from an M1 say:

Main gun and Coaxial MG at one fire zone, turret MG at another and 50 Cal at another? The main original question was can you always fire the coaxial gun at the same target as the main one as well as the other two small arms? (I use the term small arms looseley considering one is a .50 cal....)
 
Turtle said:
Perhaps a FAQ should be published containing often asked, or often missed about the rules. Not just errata, but actual answered questions.

We are currently compiling the Q&A in this thread and others. However, I am extremely reluctant (for reasons of clarity) to feature questions where the answer is 'play as the rules are written'. We have worked very hard to eradicate any leeway in both the rules sheet and the unit cards, precisely so players can get into the habit of 'trusting' what they read and playing accordingly.

Questions that are simply not covered by the rules will, of course, take prime position. The effects of the Command Squad in a vehicle for instance, is inferred by the victory conditions, but not actually stated - questions that begin 'have I got this right' and then rehash the rules probably are not contenders (though by all means raise them in the Rulesmasters area - that is what it is here for!).
 
Good to hear they're being compiled Matt, you're right about which should be included and not, thanks for all the help.

LBH

P.S. A Matthew clarification on visibility of aerials on the Warrior.

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=361643&highlight=#361643

msprange said:
Hi guys,

A quick designer's note on this.

The cover/obscuring rules were written to remove as many arguments as possible where half-hidden models are concerned. The original SST rules were an attempt to remove arguments by abstracting things out - I believe the Evo rules are better, as they leave nothing for debate.

So, by letter of the rules, if you can see _any_ part of a model, you can fire at it. Removes all argument.

That said, if players wish to apply common sense and rule (even in a tournament setting) that items such as long, thin aerials do not count, you have our blessing. It is certainly the way we play in the office.

LBH
 
Models in cover zones can claim either obscurement or cover. If the models only claim obscurement can they move without the terrain movement penalty?
 
That'd be a cool military tactic though......

'OK lads, on my mark, everyone ignore the barbed wire'

'Owwwwwww'

'Kowalski, you are not trying hard enough'
 
A question on supression - say I fire a setup LMG into a six-man squad and one dice comes up a 1. Do the damage dice that count double for supression mean I can assign one "dice" to each member of the squad, even though only three dice are assignable, or is it only for the purposes of determining if a unit is singly or doubly supressed?
 
No, you can assign to each target model - however, remember you completely discard the 1, so you do not get to double it.
 
Uh, it was a bit hard to determine what question he was asking.

He's asking since the MG dice count as two, for the purposes of suppression, do those extra suppression dice split and be assignable to models other than the model the MG die was assigned to?

In his example, he's asking of the 6 man squad can be double suppressed, however in his example that can't happen with just the MG firing. He's thinking that the way the MG dice are assigned and multiplied for suppression might mean some oddities with double suppression, since you need to assign two dice to each model to double suppress.

However, when you do the math, it's not an issue.

MG fires 2xD6 (4 suppression) at 2 man fireteam, double suppressed.
MG fires 2xD6 (4 suppression) at 4 man fireteam, suppressed
MG fires 3xD6 (6 suppression) at 4 man fireteam, suppressed.
MG fires 3xD6 (6 suppression) at 6 man fireteam, suppressed.
MG fires 4xD6 (8 suppression) at 4 man fireteam, double suppressed.
MG fires 4xD6 (8 suppression) at 8 man fireteam, suppressed.
etc...

At first it seems like there could be an issue with the way the dice are assigned, but there really isn't.
 
Ok here is one for you....



(1)Range is determined to the fire zone not the model? So say my M16's have a range of 24'' to the fire zone but the actual targets are 26'' away. They are caught within the 6'' fire zone. Can these model be assigned damage dice and be targeted or not?

(2)......LOS is blocked from the center of my mini to the intended target however I have LOS to open ground which can catch the intended target in a fire zone. Is this possible or not?

Thanks!
 
1. Yes
2. I don't think so - IIRC you can only assign damage dice to targets you can see (though recall explosive weapons do blast damage that ignores LOS)
 
Turtle said:
Uh, it was a bit hard to determine what question he was asking.

He's asking since the MG dice count as two, for the purposes of suppression, do those extra suppression dice split and be assignable to models other than the model the MG die was assigned to?

In his example, he's asking of the 6 man squad can be double suppressed, however in his example that can't happen with just the MG firing. He's thinking that the way the MG dice are assigned and multiplied for suppression might mean some oddities with double suppression, since you need to assign two dice to each model to double suppress.

However, when you do the math, it's not an issue.

MG fires 2xD6 (4 suppression) at 2 man fireteam, double suppressed.
MG fires 2xD6 (4 suppression) at 4 man fireteam, suppressed
MG fires 3xD6 (6 suppression) at 4 man fireteam, suppressed.
MG fires 3xD6 (6 suppression) at 6 man fireteam, suppressed.
MG fires 4xD6 (8 suppression) at 4 man fireteam, double suppressed.
MG fires 4xD6 (8 suppression) at 8 man fireteam, suppressed.
etc...

At first it seems like there could be an issue with the way the dice are assigned, but there really isn't.

I probably confused the question by asking about double supression at the end, but I was basically asking if one setup MG dice can supress 2 models.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
1. Yes
2. I don't think so - IIRC you can only assign damage dice to targets you can see (though recall explosive weapons do blast damage that ignores LOS)

I'd agree with Lorcan here

LBH
 
A question about troops entering or exiting transports... forgive my brain still living somewhere in the GW zone.
Models can enter a transport "simply by moving onto it" and may leave in the same way. That seems simple enough... but must they exit by a door on the transport model, or may they be placed anywhere around the model (up to the figure's Move score away)? If so, this gives units with transports several extra inches of movement... the unit enters the back of the transport, the transport moves, and the unit then can exit from the front of the vehicle whenever it gets to where it's going... possibly right into cover. Edit: This may well be in a different turn, of course.
Am I missing something? If not, will this be different in the Advanced Rulebook?
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
1. Yes
2. I don't think so - IIRC you can only assign damage dice to targets you can see (though recall explosive weapons do blast damage that ignores LOS)

Thank you.....just to clarify, my M16 (range 24') just has to pick a spot on the board. None of the targets have to be in range, just within the fire zone?
 
rvrratt said:
Lorcan Nagle said:
1. Yes
2. I don't think so - IIRC you can only assign damage dice to targets you can see (though recall explosive weapons do blast damage that ignores LOS)

Thank you.....just to clarify, my M16 (range 24') just has to pick a spot on the board. None of the targets have to be in range, just within the fire zone?

Exatly, your effective range is 6" further than the actual range of the gun.
 
Back
Top