A couple of BF EVO questions (NEW Qs 28th Mar 1749 UTC)

msprange said:
Transports: Again, rules as written - you simply move onto the transport. No mention of doors. . .

OK so the Warrior rules state the warrior and troops can only take 1 action in the turn they board/deboard.

Can the command unit still boost one of them to give them 2 actions?

LBH
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
rvrratt said:
Lorcan Nagle said:
1. Yes
2. I don't think so - IIRC you can only assign damage dice to targets you can see (though recall explosive weapons do blast damage that ignores LOS)

Thank you.....just to clarify, my M16 (range 24') just has to pick a spot on the board. None of the targets have to be in range, just within the fire zone?

Exatly, your effective range is 6" further than the actual range of the gun.

Thank you my friend, you have been extremely helpful!
 
To clarify with the transport.

A squad is in a Warrior at the start of the turn. The Warrior could move (one action), the squad could unload, and then the squad could shoot/move/charge (one action).

The wording made it sound like the squad useda move action to embark/disembark and I did not know if that would be its one action for the turn.
 
shmitty said:
The wording made it sound like the squad useda move action to embark/disembark and I did not know if that would be its one action for the turn.

The wording on the card does make it sound like that, they need to use a move action to deboard, so you could read it that that is their action for the turn.

LBH
 
Matt,

We really need this one clarified after today's demo.

A Warrior moves, the squad within then exits (using a Move action as stated in the special rules). Can the squad then take a further action that turn?

OR

Dioes the move action used to exit the transport count as the one and only action they are allowed to take that turn, (Again mentioned in the special rules)


Also, how much of a model needs to be blocked by terrain for it to be obscured/In cover

LBH
 
lastbesthope said:
Matt,

We really need this one clarified after today's demo.

A Warrior moves, the squad within then exits (using a Move action as stated in the special rules). Can the squad then take a further action that turn?

OR

Dioes the move action used to exit the transport count as the one and only action they are allowed to take that turn, (Again mentioned in the special rules)


LBH

or in simple terms can a shadow make a single move action disembark troops that then do a single shoot action.
 
ok but there was some confusment on wording on that one, we had a 4 to 1 on troops could exit and shoot. as its worded to sugest troope that disembark get a single action in second paragraph.

what if troops exit and are in contact with enemy can that be a charge ?

another question is

can a vehicle make 2 move actions then in that turn a nearby unit next to it embark onto said vehicle.
 
The battle report in the latest S&P seems to imply that some Brits hop out of a Warrior and attack the USMC troops in one turn.
 
Mr Evil said:
ok but there was some confusment on wording on that one, we had a 4 to 1 on troops could exit and shoot. as its worded to sugest troope that disembark get a single action in second paragraph.

But as Matt says they've used that 1 action to get out.

Mr Evil said:
what if troops exit and are in contact with enemy can that be a charge ?

I don't think so, going to the card for the rules:

Warrior rules card said:
Transport : Models may ..... and may leave with a Move action.

No option is given for a Charge action, and as Matt has ruled, that Move is the only action they get.

Mr Evil said:
another question is

can a vehicle make 2 move actions then in that turn a nearby unit next to it embark onto said vehicle.

Again no, I don't think so, from the Warrior rules:

Warrior rules card said:
Transport : ..... If models either enter or leave the Warrior then both the models and the Warrior may only make a single action in that turn.

So the warrior would only bve able to make 1 move action.

Of course the exception to this is you can use the Command Section to give either the warrior or the troops a bonus action, which explains what happens in the recent S&P 42 Battle Report (emphasis mine)

S&P 42 Wargamer P.14 said:
EFTF Turn 6:

In a very unfair match-up my three highly trained Brits mug the lone Marine and take cover on top of the building. The Warrior moves to close with the fleeing USMC squad and out jumps the section (Rich had already used his reaction against fire from a fire team on a building and so could do nothing about this). Using the third action from the command section they charge into combat with the two Marines they can reach, dragging them to the ground. I offer Rich the chance to surrender but he mumbles something unprintable and we proceed to turn 7.

Unless there's another instance in the report of Brits leaping out of a Warrior I've missed.

And my apologies for contributing to the discussion yesterday getting so 'heated'.

LBH
Rules 'Paralegal' :lol:
 
And just to bump this one again.

lastbesthope said:
Also, how much of a model needs to be blocked by terrain for it to be obscured/In cover

Given that you've ruled a Warrior can be seen based on it's aerial, how much of something needs to be blocked by cover.

LBH
 
as far as the rules sheel is concerned if a tank is touching a peice of brick 1mm high the tank can claim full cover.

doesnt seem quite right to me somthing rules nazis would exsploit !!!
 
Mr Evil said:
as far as the rules sheel is concerned if a tank is touching a peice of brick 1mm high the tank can claim full cover.

doesnt seem quite right to me somthing rules nazis would exsploit !!!

Oh please. There are barely 2 pages of rules to exploit so it's not to scary. The rules are a simplification and abstraction of the SST rules that were already simple and abstract.

The terrain and cover rules were the most broken of SST so I feel the WYSIWYG aproach is nice so far. A quick glance at the table tells if you get obscurement and cover. If you dont see 100% of the model with all of your unit it gets one or the other. Even if you cant see .05%. Maybe this will change with the full rules but so far it works in my limited experience.

What does confuse me a little is the use of 'see through' in the cover rules. Does this mean if cover is completley with your size that you can still draw line of sight (but claim cover or obscurement?) Or that cover does not apply if you are shot at when cover is within your size distance?
 
just measn toy can get los, and a shot, it still gets cover.

but yeah a friend pointed out if a vehiclec is 1%in cover it can in theory get full cover rules, wich just seems stupid, so we call for over 50% of target in cover.
 
Thats really the way to play. Always define the battlefield before you play. Here the aim is always for fast and friendly!

Thanks for the clairification. I keep reading it and changing my mind on how I think it means... LOL.

So far I like these rules.
 
Back
Top