VAS Critical hit effects question

DSV1

Mongoose
The rules state that they are not cumulative which is fine but if you get a result of say Turbine damaged -1 speed and then get the same result again next turn before it is repaired is it ignored as the Turbines are already damaged ?
 
DSV1 said:
The rules state that they are not cumulative which is fine but if you get a result of say Turbine damaged -1 speed and then get the same result again next turn before it is repaired is it ignored as the Turbines are already damaged ?
Not quite. There is no cumulative effect, but you have to repair BOTH before you recover the Speed.

Wulf
 
that's hazy.

here's one. when a ship is crippled and you're rolling to eliminate traits, do you roll to eliminate the "weak" trait on a particular gun? obviously it doesn't make sense to make a weak gun not weak due to damage, but by the letter of the rules this is hat you have to do.

between my buddy and i it wasn't a big deal, but i can see where people in a tournament might have a disagreement over it.
 
No you only roll to lose traits from the ship such as Radar and Torpedo Belt, not from its guns.
 
The Chauffeur said:
that's hazy.
Not at all. The effects from Critical hits (other than Crew & Damage loss) do not accumulate except where specifically noted, but each critical effect must be repaired individually. So 3 crits with a -1 Speed effect only cause -1 Speed in total, but to get that Speed back you have to fix 3 critical hits...
here's one. when a ship is crippled and you're rolling to eliminate traits, do you roll to eliminate the "weak" trait on a particular gun?
You do not roll for WEAPON traits, only for SHIP traits.

Wulf
 
I see it as relating to a car:

One flat tire is -1 speed.
Two flat tires are still -1 to speed, but you won't go back to full speed until both are fixed.

Sometimes personal experience stinks!

Nezeray
 
Back
Top