Vampire´s runes

gran_orco said:
To create a vampire a character must integrate 9 undead runes.

Where's this taken from?

gran_orco said:
Could a PC take this runes from a dead vampire?

Sure, no reason why not. Integrating Undead runes should have serious repercussions for a PC though (unless he *wants* to join the ranks of the undead...)
 
gamesmeister said:
gran_orco said:
Could a PC take this runes from a dead vampire?

Sure, no reason why not. Integrating Undead runes should have serious repercussions for a PC though (unless he *wants* to join the ranks of the undead...)

If you allow characters to take the runes of defeated foes (and the Rules certainly allow this) then this would be perfectly permissable. It also shows a potential problem, in that if a Vampire has 9 Undead runes (in addition to any other runes he may have) defeating him will cause a sudden influx of loose runes into the campaign.

Some cults/cultures may not look so askance on integrating Undead runes, at least in moderation - Zorak Zoran, for instance has a Zombie Army (one of his titles is something like "Lord of the Legions of the Undead"), so one would expect his priests to have the use of the odd Undead rune....

And if one follows the implications of "Rune of Chaos" characters who defeat the Zombie may not be able to distinguish his Undead runes form any others he may have (which is, of course, why I wouldn't follow them, put the adventure won't work if people recognise runes...)
 
I don't know where the 'creating a vampire takes 9 undead runes' thing comes from - is it an idea of your own, gran_orco? Or is there an 'official' vampirisation ritual I haven't seen?

I was going to ask what the point was of having multiple copies of the same rune, as you can only integrate one of each type...but of course they make excellent Holy Day gifts and accumulate well. Tidy little nest-egg that, nine Undead 'runes'.

- Q
 
The Vampire 9 runes things is from Monsters.

It also directly contradicts the Runic Powers pdf, which states pretty clearly that usually only one rune can be integrated, though it is possible to integrate a second at most with a -100% modifier if you are heroic enough.

EDIT: The 9 rune thing obviously would not apply to Glorantha as well.
 
It also directly contradicts the Runic Powers pdf, which states pretty clearly that usually only one rune can be integrated, though it is possible to integrate a second at most with a -100% modifier if you are heroic enough.

Which should be noted as an Optional set of rules, by the way. There will be more to come concerning integrating more than one of the same rune type.

Back to work for me,
Bry
 
Back
Top