Suppression question

Turtle

Mongoose
I saw some wording in the rules preview and wanted to make sure that I'm interpreting the rules for suppression correctly.

When you shoot, you roll dice and any 1s are discarded. Then you allocate dice to models going from highest die to closest model and onward. Any dice that do not hit are discarded (not allocated).

Are only the final dice that are actually allocated to models used for suppression, or do all the dice regardless of what they roll used for suppression.

An example, four PLA riflemen shoot at a USMC fireteam of four. The total number of damage dice rolled is 4. The PLA roll no 1s, but only two hits and two misses. Is the USMC fireteam suppressed at this point, they would be if you consider all damage dice rolled (besides 1s) count for suppression, even misses? Alternatively, if the misses aren't considered allocated, then is the USMC not suppressed?
 
If USMC Unit Alpha hits a MEA unit and has enough dice to suppress.

Then USMC Unit Bravo hits the same MEA unit and also does enough suppression, does the MEA loses 1 action or 2?

Seems very powerful, even more so with weapons that can take 2 actions from a unit.

Take the M249 SAW, After Ready Action, it Does 4d6 Dam, up to 8D6 Suppression.

One Unit of USMC can put out if Saws are ready, 22 Dice of Suppression?
Ouch.
Team 1
3 Rifles 3d6
SAW 2d6 +2d6 Ready Doubled 8d6
11 Suppression + 11 from Team 2

That's alot of suppression, AVG -3 or 4 for ones, that leaves 18 Suppression.

Is that correct?

Lee
 
Indeed, if a large group of infantry get the drop on an enemy (or, God forbid, they have machine guns ready to go), then the enemy is in trouble!

There are ways around this - don't split into fire teams (gives you greater resilience, in exchange for less flexibility), make sure you get the drop on the enemy (rather than the other way around), use units immune to Suppression (coming up!).

Also remember that a suppressed unit is not completely useless. Don't be afraid to bug out, regroup, and then have another crack at the enemy, hopefully this time with some good support. If nothing else, you can try flanking them to avoid that set up machine gun.

This is one of the things I like about BF Evo - there are always tactics around any problem. You just have to work at it!
 
Sounds good.

Matt,
Thanks for the answers.

Just making sure I understand, the core rules.

Would the Covered Advance help at all with suppersion?


And does the Elvated Bonus increas the Kill Number?

Lee
5 new buildings & 8 Cargo Cans built and ready for combat
9 cars and 1 Semi
1 Front Loader
and lots left to build :)
 
Matt- These are some of the things that have made SST great. BF:EVO just sounds more refined and tighter. I'm really looking foward to this game. :D
 
msprange said:
Also remember that a suppressed unit is not completely useless. Don't be afraid to bug out, regroup, and then have another crack at the enemy, hopefully this time with some good support. If nothing else, you can try flanking them to avoid that set up machine gun.

This is one of the things I like about BF Evo - there are always tactics around any problem. You just have to work at it!

Okies so if Suppressed, I can lose up to 2 Actions.

But even if Suppresed I can React, though limited to Move only.

I think those are correct.

The Move, does not have to be away from the shooters, (as far as I can tell in the rules).

Could have sworn I read a weapon that could cause 2 Action Supperssion, but I can not seem to find it now.


Good Gaming All
Lee
 
Rabidchild said:
Larac said:
Could have sworn I read a weapon that could cause 2 Action Supperssion, but I can not seem to find it now.


Good Gaming All
Lee

It's in the description of the machine guns.
Was using Herio's cards and that part is not on there, I think all MGs then have that trait.

If every model in the target unit is assigned 2 or more Damage Dice when this weapon is used, the unit will lose 2 actions from Suppression, rather than just one.

So that means when the Unit fires, all dice are counted.
If you can assign 2 dice to each fig in the target unit they lose the next round of actions.

Some quick math,

USMC 8 figs in a squad (if not split, and no out of action)
MEA 12 Figs

USMC Max Supp. 22 Dice
MEA Max Supp, 10 +how many can be gotten in the blast effect
say 2 each , so 14

Unless the USMC is really bunched up, neither should be able to Double Supress a full unit.

Seems fair, I think, but still nasty.

Lee
 
Each damage dice from an MG counts as two for suppression, it's in the MG's rules text.

As for suppression, a unit can only be suppressed once per shoot action, no matter how many dice are thrown at it. If you want to suppress a unit twice you'll have to have two different units shooting at it suppressing both times on the same turn.

What's really fun to do with suppresions and reactions is when your opponent fires at you with his first action, fails to suppress or cause significant casualties, then you fire back reaction and suppress him, causing him to lose his second action of the turn. Usually this leaves that unit a little exposed so I can mop up on my turn. My PLA do that quite often, especially since I've been keeping them in large squads.
 
Turtle said:
Each damage dice from an MG counts as two for suppression, it's in the MG's rules text.

As for suppression, a unit can only be suppressed once per shoot action, no matter how many dice are thrown at it. If you want to suppress a unit twice you'll have to have two different units shooting at it suppressing both times on the same turn.

Some MGs can double suppress, as a Trait, 90% certian.

Lee
 
Squad of 8 guys as a target. Only 4 are in the designated Fire Zone.
If you throw 12 dice at a squad, is the whole unit suppressed?


With AoE weapons, do the splash dice count for suppression or just the base attack?
 
Paladin said:
With AoE weapons, do the splash dice count for suppression or just the base attack?

I sure hope all of them, a shell landing anywhere me would keep me supressed until next week!!
 
hate to say this

but answer is in the rule sheet ;)

"if a unit is allocated at least as many damage dice in a single shoot action as it had modles then it will imediatly loose its next action, and may only move as an action. if this happenes more than once in a turn, it will loose a total of 2 actions. a unit may never loose more than 2 actions from suppression."

think that answers all questions so far asked, they are very simple and well exsplained i feel.

remember damage dice allocated are any dice that dont roll a 1, so blasts have a good chance if they catch the entire unit of supressing them.
 
Back
Top