Spirit Resistance and multimissile

gran_orco

Mongoose
I rescue this question from another post beacuse I think that it has been lost without an official answer.
"It says that spirit resistance blocks spirits from coming into contact with the recipient. If the recipient has a spirit bound in an enchantment that is in contact with the skin -like a ring, or a tatoo-, should the spirit leave it?
Does the same thing happens with shamans who has fetishes or nature spirits possessing him?
Or maybe is this spell used only for prevent damage or discorporate intents?"

Otherwise, I treat multimissile like multiple attacks on random locations of the same target enemy. Other players think that multimissile can impact on multiple targets. Which one should be correct?
 
gran_orco said:
I rescue this question from another post beacuse I think that it has been lost without an official answer.
"It says that spirit resistance blocks spirits from coming into contact with the recipient. If the recipient has a spirit bound in an enchantment that is in contact with the skin -like a ring, or a tatoo-, should the spirit leave it?
Does the same thing happens with shamans who has fetishes or nature spirits possessing him?
Or maybe is this spell used only for prevent damage or discorporate intents?"

Otherwise, I treat multimissile like multiple attacks on random locations of the same target enemy. Other players think that multimissile can impact on multiple targets. Which one should be correct?

By 'contact' I think the rules mean spiritual contact and not physical contact, i.e. the spirit in a ring or tattoo would still be there, but unable to magicaly interact with the recipient in the normal way for spirits.

In old RQ multimissile was always against a single target, so that's how I'd rule it.

Simon Hibbs
 
Loz, Pete? Any confirmation? (additional question: could be cast as an attack spell?)

I am going to play tomorrow, and the adventurers are fighting with a shaman, so an answer would be very appreciated.
 
I always took Multimissile to be "magically hardened air/force" that is physical in nature.

You need a normal, mundane "carrier" missile;
the spell can only affect a single target (the one hit by the "carrier");
the damage from the spell-created missiles is "magical" in regards to affecting creatures only damaged by such (but can't hurt discorporate spirits, as the "carrier" missile will not "bite"—it will merely pass through);
the locations are all rolled randomly;
and a new casting is needed for a new "carrier".

That's what I've always done.
 
gran_orco said:
I rescue this question from another post beacuse I think that it has been lost without an official answer.
"It says that spirit resistance blocks spirits from coming into contact with the recipient. If the recipient has a spirit bound in an enchantment that is in contact with the skin -like a ring, or a tatoo-, should the spirit leave it?
Does the same thing happens with shamans who has fetishes or nature spirits possessing him?
Or maybe is this spell used only for prevent damage or discorporate intents?"

Otherwise, I treat multimissile like multiple attacks on random locations of the same target enemy. Other players think that multimissile can impact on multiple targets. Which one should be correct?

The key to this is in the spell's text, Gran:

A blocked spirit unable to touch a recipient will not be able to personally attack or harm him, or engage him in spirit combat.

Note the 'unable'. If the spirit is already in contact with the subject then the spell has no value..

Multimissile is also pretty clear in its effects:

Multimissile creates one additional magical missile for every point of Magnitude. Each magical missile’s attack is rolled for separately...

This means that if I cast MM on an arrow I get multiple arrows launched at the SAME target, but each will hit a separate location, if rolled randomly. Now, what happens if your combat score gives you a CM and you take Choose Location? I would rule that only the first missile gains from the CM - the rest are randomly located unless you generate two or more CMs in which case you could apply a separate CM to each missile. So, if you generated two MMs and had two CMs you could, say, Choose Location with the first missile and Impale with the second.

But its the same target. Not multiples.
 
What happens if the sorcerer uses his ghost to harm a foe and after that his friend casts spirit resistance on him? Could the ghost return to the fetish or ring in touch with him?
I know that I am being complicated and hard to understand, but it is just what has happened in the last session.
 
gran_orco said:
What happens if the sorcerer uses his ghost to harm a foe and after that his friend casts spirit resistance on him? Could the ghost return to the fetish or ring in touch with him?
I know that I am being complicated and hard to understand, but it is just what has happened in the last session.

So, to make sure I understand correctly, the sorcerer with the ghost bound to the fetish or ring, has Spirit Resistance cast on him whilst the ghost is outside the fetish? If so the spell won't prevent the ghost from returning to its binding, but it will prevent it from attacking or otherwise interacting with the sorcerer for the duration of the spell.
 
Back
Top