Rules clarifications

Ultron

Mongoose
Greetings all!

I got my minis yesterday and immediately played a game, which left me with a few questions:

1. If a size 1 target is in cover within 1 inch of the edge of the cover, and I fire at it, do I still get the 6 inch radius against other troops that are in cover but farther in than 1 inch?

2. My Abrams tank has 2 mgs. When I fire both of them, do I roll 3d6 or 6d6? Does this count as being the weapon that my mgs can fire along with, or could I still fire tha main gun as well?

3. PLA troops don't have armor, so if I hit and they receive no armor save, then why do they have a kill number? They are automatically removed if hit, right?

I appreciate any answers you could provide!
 
Ultron said:
Greetings all!

I got my minis yesterday and immediately played a game, which left me with a few questions:

1. If a size 1 target is in cover within 1 inch of the edge of the cover, and I fire at it, do I still get the 6 inch radius against other troops that are in cover but farther in than 1 inch?

from the base rules:

you can only attack models completely or partially within this Fire Zone that are also within Line of Sight.

so if you can't see them, you can't allocate dice.

2. My Abrams tank has 2 mgs. When I fire both of them, do I roll 3d6 or 6d6? Does this count as being the weapon that my mgs can fire along with, or could I still fire tha main gun as well?

Each MG can fire for 3D6 damage, you can fire both MGs and the main gun for one firing action and each can generate its' own firing zone. In reaction, you can fire both MGs, but they can only target the unit the tank's reacting to.

Note that some tanks have MGs that, when fired with the main gun, have to use the same fire zone (such as the Chain gun on the Challenger)

3. PLA troops don't have armor, so if I hit and they receive no armor save, then why do they have a kill number? They are automatically removed if hit, right?

They are, the main reason to have a kill rating is to maintain uniformity of basic stats, i think. Also, if they're using a set of baseline stats for PLA troopers, then if they make a unit later with better armour they just have to copy/paste and update the save rating.
 
No problem, though i just realised I never clarified that if you fire both MGs on the Abrams, you roll 3D6 in two firezones or 6D6 in one...
 
If you fire at a target in cover, as per the previous example with the 2 mgs, and it is the only target in line of sight, are all of the hits allocated to that one unit? I believe the rules state that they would be, but I want to be sure.
 
Ultron said:
If you fire at a target in cover, as per the previous example with the 2 mgs, and it is the only target in line of sight, are all of the hits allocated to that one unit? I believe the rules state that they would be, but I want to be sure.

If by unit you mean model then yes. In this way you can still suppress a squad, but not double suppress (the special ability of the machineguns) because that requires each model in the unit to be allocated two dice.

As for the Abrams, you almost have it right. One of the machineguns and the M2 .50cal say they may both fire in addition to another weapon. Think of it that the gunner either fires the main gun or his co-axial machinegun but the commander and the loader can fire their weapons (a machinegun and the M2) all the time. The can each make their own firezones too, which I think is pretty cool. My PLA opponent last night might disagree with me on that one. :)
 
Back
Top