Ready the SAWs, Double Suppression, and extra dice.

If someones say rules as written, I will lace up my boots and put my 8 and a half wides up yer arse.

Under Saws it states that it gets 2 extra dice when firing after setting up with a ready action, and uses it's front facing. then uses the term IN ADDITION, which by my dictionary has to meaning "a thing or part added to".

IN addition then goes on about the Double suppression dice. So reading this would mean that you do not get Double Suppression unless you had the SAW set up first. Otherwise you would write the rules with the description of the double suppression first, then use the term IN ADDITION if the saws was set up with a ready action, bla, bla, bla,, yakkety, smackety....

I have had it told now to me both ways. So which is it. As written which would be you must set of the SAW and fire in the front arc to get both the extra dice and the double suppression, or not as written which would be double suppression period, and if set up firing from the front arc you get extra dice.

The first one make setting up very important, the second version make setting up much less important.
 
The Old Soldier said:
I have had it told now to me both ways. So which is it. As written which would be you must set of the SAW and fire in the front arc to get both the extra dice and the double suppression, or not as written which would be double suppression period, and if set up firing from the front arc you get extra dice.

Well, risking your boots, you have got it right here - it is indeed as written :)
 
As written which would be you must set of the SAW and fire in the front arc to get both the extra dice and the double suppression.

Thank you, Matt! :D

"putting my 81/2 wides back in the closet"
 
Matt, I've been told someone there at Mongoose interprets it differently, but seeing as how this is second hand information (Albeit from a reputable source) I shall not name who publicly. If you wish to know exactly, I'd be more than happy to pm the information to you.

Here is my take as a person who taught "English as a second language" classes to Foreign Nationals at a University. As written, the term "In addition..." begins a whole new sentence and includes the term "every" time, which infers nothing whatsoever about the weapon being readied. As written, I would infer the extra suppression has to do with the sheer volume of fire a SAW or MINIMI puts out whether "readied" or not. I infer from the phrase "In addition..." being a new sentence and not a phrase attached to the ready rule, to begin a new special rule for the MGs. It is as Old Soldier states, "a thing or part added to," which I take to mean an added rule, not a continuation of the rule which comes before. Here is exactly the rule as written on the cards:

Mongoose Publishing on the USMC Infantry Squad and British Army Infantry Section cards under M249 SAW and MINIMI Para Special Rules said:
If a Ready action is taken to set this weapon up properly (lie prone, extend bipod, etc). then all subsequent Shoot actions will gain two bonus Damage Dice though it may only shoot in its forward facing. These bonus dice are lost as soon as the model moves. In addition, every Damage Dice this weapon rolls will count as two for the purposes of Suppression only. If every model in the target unit is assigned two or more Damage Dice when this weapon is used, the unit will lose two actions from Suppression, rather than just one.

No where in this rules last two sentences does it refer back to the weapon having to be readied.

As written, I can see where the first of the last two sentences could be interpreted to refer to "readied" but not the last, as the last specifically states "when this weapon is used, which to me means all the time. I also postulate that as written the second to last sentence includes the the phrase "every Damage Dice this weapon rolls" which is what makes me think this is a second special rule, non-relevant to "readied" status.

I understand the motivation of "The Old Soldier" here, as he has posted this over on EvoCommand.com as well. I actually do agree with his reasoning for wanting to interpret it the way he has, and in some ways hope he is correct that this is the intent. Because this adds more reason to "set up" the MGs as an action. This would give players more cause to actually "ready" their MGs. This would enrich the game I believe. So yeah, I hope it is the way "The Old Soldier" interprets it, I just wanted to put the entire rule out here and not leave any of it out, because "as written" gives it a different meaning to me, and apparently others as well.

- Curtis "Shadow4ce"

PS Old Soldier, I hope you understand I am not finding fault whatsoever with you personally. I am however, questioning the wording of the rules "as written" and their clarity on this point. You should know by now I have a great deal of respect for you and value your input and opinion, both here and on EvoCommand.com. :wink:
 
Back
Top