The Old Soldier said:The whole section on grenades in a structure might as well be just black marked and removed from the Rule Book. It is very vague and makes little sense. ALL rules reqarding ready means to use a ready action. Why would this one be any different? The only thing grenades have going for them is the fact they negate cover saves for the targets in the building.
I would have rather had it written as a special Action. Any unit with a model within the building or within 6" of the building may place a 3" FZ anywhere within the building up to 6" from one of the models of the firing unit. This FZ acts as per normal FZ rules except all models within the FZ will have Damage Dice of a D6 rolled against it bla, bla, bla,.......
I see no reason why the unit using the grenades couldn't make another action during thier turn. I have used grenades, you toss em in, then while the enemy is hopefully stunned, wounded or dieing finish them off with close quarter fire after going in to get them.
BuShips said:Yes LBH, but then why use the word "Ready" when if they meant to mean no extra delay they could just use the term "Fire"? 'Ready' means prepare and 'Fire' means to make a combat action I'd think.
lastbesthope said:BuShips said:Yes LBH, but then why use the word "Ready" when if they meant to mean no extra delay they could just use the term "Fire"? 'Ready' means prepare and 'Fire' means to make a combat action I'd think.
Because requiring a Ready Action to do it stops it being done as a reaction. Maybe???
LBH
BuShips said:lastbesthope said:BuShips said:Yes LBH, but then why use the word "Ready" when if they meant to mean no extra delay they could just use the term "Fire"? 'Ready' means prepare and 'Fire' means to make a combat action I'd think.
Because requiring a Ready Action to do it stops it being done as a reaction. Maybe???
LBH
Yes, that could be an answer. I'm not saying that it should take two Actions to use a grenade mind you, as I'd have just called it a Shoot action and be done with it. It would be simple that way, and I like simple.![]()
The Old Soldier said:If it is suppose to be used in the same action, then call it what it is. A special shoot action (THROW). Just like you have in the Air phase a special move action (LAND), or a special shoot action (BOMB).
Either that or if it is intended to be readied before throwing, then make the ready action SPECIAL in that it does not provoke a reaction.
The word ready should only be used as a action to prepare something. That way there is no confusion.
The Old Soldier said:Works in the same way as a normal FZ. The unit creating it can not be harmed by thier own FZ, but can harm other friendly or enemy units.
Nothing missing.
cordas said:Fire zones do differentiate grenades do. When you are using them in a different room you can say you are placing the FZ so that it doesn't catch your own guys. Using the rules as you stand I could jump my SAS out of ambush right into the middle of your squad and then grenade your huys but not my own...... Thats not abstract its bollocks.