Edit: I guess I did a bad job of asking my question because nobody is answering the question I asked. So, I will try again. Sorry for previous confusion.
I completely understand a regular task chain. In that same section of the book (2e) it talks about using the same table for characters helping each other. The book says this:
"Task chains usually assume that while Travellers are working together, they are waiting for the results of one check in order to affect the next. However, there will be times when Travellers are working at the same time on exactly the same task and will wish to combine their efforts.In these situations, the task chain rules can still be used but with one Traveller making the ‘final’ check and the others making checks to add task chain modifiers."
"For example, Erik and Kathya are trying to force open a locked door within a smuggler’s asteroid lair with brute strength. Erik is the strongest with STR 9 and so he puts his shoulder into the door but fears he alone mighty not be enough. Kathya has STR 7 and helps. Kathya makes an STR check and consults the Task Chain table in order to provide a DM to Erik’s STR check, which will determine whether the door is forced open or not."
So, the book doesn't specify if the person providing assistance has the same target number as the person leading. The assumption then is that it is the same TN, but if that is true, why have someone assist at all? You are taking a situation where the GM asked for a single successful roll and forcing yourselves to have to get 2 successes instead of 1.
Using the example above GM says "to open the door you need to make a strength test with a TN 12" Erik doesn't want to chance it so asks kathya for help. Kathya rolls and gets a total of 14, which is an effect of +2. This gives Erik a + 2 on his roll. Erik rolls an 8, adds his +2 for a total of 10. He fails the roll and the door doesn't open.
Kathya rolled high enough to meet the original request, but since she was only assisting, the door doesn't open.... This doesn't make sense to me...
So, is the intent that the person assisting is rolling against a lower TN?
In this case, should Kathya's roll be against a TN 8?
I completely understand a regular task chain. In that same section of the book (2e) it talks about using the same table for characters helping each other. The book says this:
"Task chains usually assume that while Travellers are working together, they are waiting for the results of one check in order to affect the next. However, there will be times when Travellers are working at the same time on exactly the same task and will wish to combine their efforts.In these situations, the task chain rules can still be used but with one Traveller making the ‘final’ check and the others making checks to add task chain modifiers."
"For example, Erik and Kathya are trying to force open a locked door within a smuggler’s asteroid lair with brute strength. Erik is the strongest with STR 9 and so he puts his shoulder into the door but fears he alone mighty not be enough. Kathya has STR 7 and helps. Kathya makes an STR check and consults the Task Chain table in order to provide a DM to Erik’s STR check, which will determine whether the door is forced open or not."
So, the book doesn't specify if the person providing assistance has the same target number as the person leading. The assumption then is that it is the same TN, but if that is true, why have someone assist at all? You are taking a situation where the GM asked for a single successful roll and forcing yourselves to have to get 2 successes instead of 1.
Using the example above GM says "to open the door you need to make a strength test with a TN 12" Erik doesn't want to chance it so asks kathya for help. Kathya rolls and gets a total of 14, which is an effect of +2. This gives Erik a + 2 on his roll. Erik rolls an 8, adds his +2 for a total of 10. He fails the roll and the door doesn't open.
Kathya rolled high enough to meet the original request, but since she was only assisting, the door doesn't open.... This doesn't make sense to me...
So, is the intent that the person assisting is rolling against a lower TN?
In this case, should Kathya's roll be against a TN 8?
Last edited: