I'm reviving this thread, as my search0fu has not clarified for me just how the Claweagles work. Before I order a bunch of the little buggers, I figure I need to make sure my reading of the rule is right.
Please help with the questions below.
Their Boarding Rule starts with:
Boarding - The Claweagle may initiate a boarding action, simply by moving into contact with an enemy ship and succeeding in an opposed
Crew Quality test. If successful, it will stay in contact with the enemy ship until the Drazi player decides to release it in an End Phase. The
Calweagle may also fire its particle beams into the ship (but not at other targets while grappled).
The first sentence states that a QC check is done to initiate the boarding action - but this seems to be contradicted later (see below)
The one clear thing here is that if the Opposed QC check succeeds, they stay in contact with the enemy ship.
Does this merely mean they move as the target moves, no matter what?
Next it says:
While attached, the Claweagle may only be attacked by fighters or ships other than the one being grappled with weapons that also have the Accurate or Precise trait.
The lack of punctuation makes this unclear. Does this mean:
a) Cannot be attacked by the Target at all?
b) Can be attacked by Any Fighters?
c) Can it only be attacked by Fighters with Precise or Accurate Traits?
And now the last bit throws the first sentence into question..
Troops on board the Claweagle may automatically initiate a boarding action against any ship they are in contact with, as if they were using breaching pods.
Here it specifies that they may breach pod assault "any ship they are in contact with", not necessarily clamped to, and the previous QC check is not mentioned.
Does this mean that even if the QC check is failed, they may still Board as long as they're in contact by the end phase?
Here's the sample of how I think it works:
4 Claweagles stalk an Omega, and get into contact after the Omega has moved.
Only 2 of them beat the Omega in the QC check and clamp on.
The Omega fires at the other two, destroying one. It cannot shoot at the two who clamped on.
In the end phase, 3 Claweagles remain in contact, so all three may board the Omega as if using Breach Pods.
Now, if they Omega was still able to move when the Claweagle Squadron attached, the two clamped on would move with it (as if part of the Omega model), and the other two Claweagles would get left behind.
So in general, Claweagles in contact can always Board. But if they fail their QC check and don't clamp on, there are two penalties:
-- They can be shot at freely by the target or any other ship
-- They can be left behind if the target still can move later that turn.
Have I got that about right?
Thanks!
Dale