Working out who is and isn't readied is either as difficult or as easy you want to make it. A simple ready counter can be used to make it easy...
I think the real issue is what the ready action is and whether the aim of the ready should carry over or not. I will give 2 examples.
1. Readying MGs - by readying the MG the gunner is taking down the bipod, laying the MG down and setting himself up behind it.
2. Readying a sniper rifle - the sniper takes position, and draws a bead on a specific model. Then shoots declaring which model he has taken a bead on (reading the cards I have access I would say the sniper declares his target in the shoot action not the ready action), and shoots.
Both of these actions could be seen to carry over into subsequent turns, as both involve gunners getting into position. With regards to whether his happens or not is what the relevant rules say.....
The fact that the card for the MG specificaly says the MG can only fire in its forward arc, and can fire in subsequent turns untill the model moves.
The Sniper cards however say nothing about the ready action carrying over, and surely if they did the sniper would also face the same restrictions that he could only fire in his forward arc (re-siting a Sniper rifle is no more difficult that re-siting a bipod mounted MG), it would also say the sniper can carry on getting the bonus untill he moves, the same way it does for the MG.
From my reading of these 2 rules, and the fact that it has been stated both by those with the main rule book and staff at MGP that ready actions don't carry over... unless the rule on that particular ready action state overwise.
I would take the default rule of ready actions not carrying over is to take away that "god mode" of I know his snipper has drawn a bead on my sargent... oh and as if by coincidence the sargent moves out of LOS. Some ready actions will have longer effect such as setting up a MG, this is stated specificaly for them.
I think the real issue is what the ready action is and whether the aim of the ready should carry over or not. I will give 2 examples.
1. Readying MGs - by readying the MG the gunner is taking down the bipod, laying the MG down and setting himself up behind it.
2. Readying a sniper rifle - the sniper takes position, and draws a bead on a specific model. Then shoots declaring which model he has taken a bead on (reading the cards I have access I would say the sniper declares his target in the shoot action not the ready action), and shoots.
Both of these actions could be seen to carry over into subsequent turns, as both involve gunners getting into position. With regards to whether his happens or not is what the relevant rules say.....
The fact that the card for the MG specificaly says the MG can only fire in its forward arc, and can fire in subsequent turns untill the model moves.
The Sniper cards however say nothing about the ready action carrying over, and surely if they did the sniper would also face the same restrictions that he could only fire in his forward arc (re-siting a Sniper rifle is no more difficult that re-siting a bipod mounted MG), it would also say the sniper can carry on getting the bonus untill he moves, the same way it does for the MG.
From my reading of these 2 rules, and the fact that it has been stated both by those with the main rule book and staff at MGP that ready actions don't carry over... unless the rule on that particular ready action state overwise.
I would take the default rule of ready actions not carrying over is to take away that "god mode" of I know his snipper has drawn a bead on my sargent... oh and as if by coincidence the sargent moves out of LOS. Some ready actions will have longer effect such as setting up a MG, this is stated specificaly for them.