I read the rule on small ships:
"When you purchase two ships for a single Patrol point for use in a game of Raid level or higher, then they must be placed in a squadron with another ship. They need not be placed in the same squadron as one another, but they cannot be used independently. They must stay in this squadron unless the other ships are destroyed."
and am confused by the wording.
Can they be (1) put into a squadron with their mate or do they have to be (2) put into a squadron with another, not 2:1 ship?
If it is 1, then I can see them being taken still, as they are a valid tactical choice, but if it is (2) then the initiative penalty will mean that they are not likely to ever be chosen (essentially having to devote at least 2 patrol points to each initiative unit)
At least as written, the rule seems to imply #2.
It seems that if #1 was intended, that the rule could be redrafted slightly to say that each initiative unit must start as at least 1 full patrol point.
"When you purchase two ships for a single Patrol point for use in a game of Raid level or higher, then they must be placed in a squadron with another ship. They need not be placed in the same squadron as one another, but they cannot be used independently. They must stay in this squadron unless the other ships are destroyed."
and am confused by the wording.
Can they be (1) put into a squadron with their mate or do they have to be (2) put into a squadron with another, not 2:1 ship?
If it is 1, then I can see them being taken still, as they are a valid tactical choice, but if it is (2) then the initiative penalty will mean that they are not likely to ever be chosen (essentially having to devote at least 2 patrol points to each initiative unit)
At least as written, the rule seems to imply #2.
It seems that if #1 was intended, that the rule could be redrafted slightly to say that each initiative unit must start as at least 1 full patrol point.