ACTA-SF-Ship Explosions

Lincolnlog

Mongoose
Had a situation last night, where a Klingon D5 blew up and there was a D6 slightly less than 4" away.

Okay, so the starting damage of the D5 was 18, so the explosion was 9 AD. I assume that means roll 9d6 with 4-6 causing damage?

Assuming the above is correct, only 6's go through the shields and cause internal damage or criticals? This is the way we played it.
 
The Stricken Ship rule does say "attacked by half the exploding ship's starting damage in Attack Dice...". Since there's no mention of the Seeker damage ability the explosion is treated as a normal attack. You are correct.
 
billclo said:
I would treat ship explosions as drones, suicide shuttles, and plasmas are; a roll of a 6 doesn't penetrate the shields.

Explosions are treated like normal (non-seeking) weapons. 6's go through shields.

And so are suicide shuttles. It seems to be a common misconception that suicide shuttles have the Seeking trait.
 
Greg Smith said:
And so are suicide shuttles. It seems to be a common misconception that suicide shuttles have the Seeking trait.
A subtle but important difference between SFB (where they are seeking) and ACTA (where they are not seeking).
 
Back
Top