Stupid chargen question - magnitudes

Bifford

Banded Mongoose
I'm helping players generate starting characters in a PbF on the Geek.

I thought that common spells could only be taken at their base magnitude (that stated in the book) and if they want to gain it at a higher (progressive) level this has to be done in game through advancement.

Am I wrong?

Can characters take a Magnitude 1, Progressive spell at Magnitude 2 or 3 as part of their "6 spell slots" starting allowance??

I feel like such an idiot having to ask this. Dread to think how I look to my players...... :/
 
The rules are on pg. 33. They say you 6 points to spend in Magnitude and that no spell can go above Magnitude 3. 1 Magnitude costs one point. So you could have 3 spells at Magnitudes 3, 2 and 1 or four at 2, 2, 1 and 1 or however you want. They don't have to start at the base level unless the player themselves wants a larger base of spells to draw from.
 
Back
Top