Questions on Manuevers

Piperdog

Mongoose
I just launched my first official campaign using the RQII rules, and I am running into some questions on maneuvers. The answers are probably obvious, but I don't quite understand some of them, or rather, the value of them. Sooooo, I was hoping for some help.

For Overextend Opponent, the rules say the opponent cannot attack on his next strike rank; I get confused whether this refers to the next round, in which he can't use any ca's to attack, or if it simply means that when his turn comes back up to spend a ca, he has to spend it on something other than attack (this is what I decided it meant).

For the Change Range manuever- my understanding is that you can use a ca to change range to get in on an opponent, past a weapon of longer reach, or the other way around....but you have to make opposing evade rolls. Does this manuever allow you to succeed without rolling? I am assuming it does.

Under the defensive manuevers, I am not understanding the benefit of Redirect Blow or Stand Fast. For Redirect Blow, I can take a hit in another location on my person...but why? If I succeed in my parry, and my opponent fails to hit....I don't understand what this manuever is for. Could someone elaborate on this for me please? When is it beneficial? For Stand Fast, it says that effects of knockback are negated from any damage recieved......but how can you take damage if you made your defense roll and achieved one level of success? Please help!
 
Piperdog said:
For Overextend Opponent, the rules say the opponent cannot attack on his next strike rank; I get confused whether this refers to the next round, in which he can't use any ca's to attack, or if it simply means that when his turn comes back up to spend a ca, he has to spend it on something other than attack (this is what I decided it meant).

When the opponents next Strike Rank comes up (i.e. the time when he can act next time), he cannot spend a CA to attack - it must be used on something else or not at all.

Piperdog said:
For the Change Range manuever- my understanding is that you can use a ca to change range to get in on an opponent, past a weapon of longer reach, or the other way around....but you have to make opposing evade rolls. Does this manuever allow you to succeed without rolling? I am assuming it does.

Yes, it does. Whether you make opposing evades to change range or "opposing" (not an opposed test) attacks to do it, is up to you.

Piperdog said:
Under the defensive manuevers, I am not understanding the benefit of Redirect Blow or Stand Fast. For Redirect Blow, I can take a hit in another location on my person...but why? If I succeed in my parry, and my opponent fails to hit....I don't understand what this manuever is for. Could someone elaborate on this for me please? When is it beneficial? For Stand Fast, it says that effects of knockback are negated from any damage recieved......but how can you take damage if you made your defense roll and achieved one level of success? Please help!

Both of these are relevant if your opponent succeeds and you crit on your parry. Very limited use, but useful nonetheless.
 
Thanks Dan.

I think I am still misunderstanding something on the core level with the rules.
You said that, for Stand Fast and Redirect Blow, that they are useful if the opponent succeeds but you crit the parry. Sorry but I am lost. If he succeeds with a basic hit, but you crit the parry, then he didn't hit at all, right? You parry the entire blow, from my understanding, so why would those manuevers be needed? I must not be understanding some fundamental rule here.
 
Piperdog said:
Thanks Dan.

I think I am still misunderstanding something on the core level with the rules.
You said that, for Stand Fast and Redirect Blow, that they are useful if the opponent succeeds but you crit the parry. Sorry but I am lost. If he succeeds with a basic hit, but you crit the parry, then he didn't hit at all, right? You parry the entire blow, from my understanding, so why would those manuevers be needed? I must not be understanding some fundamental rule here.

A successful attack always hits unless it is evaded. if you parry a successful attack then you may block some of the damage. E.g. if you parry with a small weapon but your opponent hits you with a huge one then *even though you parried* your parry will have no significant effect.

Don't forget as well that knockback is based on damage done before armour and parry. E.g. say someone hits you with a Huge weapon and does 18 damage while you parry with a Huge shield. You will take no damage but if you're size 13 then you'll still take some knockback.

If you critical a parry against a normal hit then you get one defensive CM. If your weapon is smaller than the attacker's then you would use that CM to try to reduce the impact. This may mean preventing yourself from being knocked back or, if you can't block all the damage, redirecting it to your best armoured location (usually the head...).

It's not something that happens very often at all. In my campaign I don't think I've ever seen these options chosen. They probably have happened somewhere though.

Hope that helps.
 
Back
Top