Questions About Playing an Allied League Fleet

Leadman

Mongoose
I have been trying out an Allied League fleet made up of ships from the Brakiri, Drazi, and Pak’ma’ra lists. I noticed that the special rules that a League Fleet uses do not include the Pak’ma’ra Redundant Systems and Gentle Beings special rules. Is there a reason why they were left out? Would the intended balance be distorted if I were to use both of these rules? They would only apply to the Pak’ma’ra ships.

Thanks,
Leadman
 
Yeah, it seems some abilities got left out. previously it was defined as abilities that affected the entire fleet (good example would be the drazi initiative bonus for attacking) weren't allowed in a combined fleet.

Chern
 
As far as I'm aware, rules that affect ships (such as Gaim being affected without a Queen, Vree CQ bonuses, pak'ma'ra Redundancy, etc.) all still apply but the "fleet bonuses" such as Drazi inititive don't.
 
Hmm. Since the League fleet's Initiative is the lowest of the combined group, wouldn't the Drazi initiative "have effect" but it's overruled by the presence of any other League ships? Also - including a Gaim ship without the queen would reduce the fleet's initiative to -3 as the Gaim are in confusion?
 
The Gaim 'The Queens' and 'Protect the Queen' rule don't apply to mixed league fleets, so no penalty for initiative, no double VP for losing a queen, but no +1CQ either.

Bizarrely, non of the pak'ma'ra's special rules apply, where aguably Redundant Systems, Plasma Web and Gentle Beings should.
 
Greg Smith said:
The Gaim 'The Queens' and 'Protect the Queen' rule don't apply to mixed league fleets, so no penalty for initiative, no double VP for losing a queen, but no +1CQ either.

Bizarrely, non of the pak'ma'ra's special rules apply, where aguably Redundant Systems, Plasma Web and Gentle Beings should.
I'd argue that 'The Queens' & 'Protect the Queen' should still apply to Gaim ships only in addition to the PMR's 'Redundant Systems', 'Plasma Web' and 'Gentle Beings' as a PMR ships only. Those ships aren't being crewed by the Brakiri who don't know them or won't be effected by a loss of a queen, so they should still be applied. Either a House Rule or new Errata?
 
Back
Top