Power Drain Question

sean_68333

Mongoose
I'm sure this has been covered, but I couldn't find anything on this.

If a ship is crippled it can only fire 1 weapons even if it has several. Can a crippled ship choose the only fire 1 weapon power drain option and fire one of its weapons? It has more than 1 weapon, but can only fire one.

Any thoughts from you folks?
 
I would say no - its restricted to firing one weapon and hence can't fulfill the power drain using that part - it could however choose "fire only phasers"....... and fire one phaser.
 
I woud say it could use either weapon option. The rules only restrict movement on power drain if you have limited movement.

Losing weapons isn't altering the 'power' your ship has, you have the same power as you had prior to losing weapons, so you should have no problems taking any of the weapon option for power drain.

Why would you be restrcted to firing phasers only, but not 1 weapon, that makes no sense to me. Firing phasers only is possibly more power hungry than a single weapon. Does that mean if you only had 1 heavy weapon left and no phasers you would not be able to take any weapon option?

Would an orion with phasers only not be allowed to fire phasers only, as he only has phasers?

Is a Fed who is not reloaded not be allowed to take phasers only, as that is all he can fire?
 
There are no restrictions mentioned at all in the 'may only fire phasers' power drain option, there are however some restrictions in the 'may only move 6" ' and the 'may only fire 1 weapon' power drain options.

Someone did point this out, the ship itself, while crippled, still has multiple weapon systems to choose from, so it doesnt qualify for the 'only has one weapon system' segment of the 'may only fire 1 weapon'

So I would say it could choose either the 'may only fire phasers' or the 'may only fire 1 weapon' at the time of taking the power drain effect, but it was pointed out that this 1 weapon system should be declared when the power drain effect is taken via the special order.

If no special order was taken, then the 1 weapon system can be declared in the shooting phase.
 
Since we already had a ruling that a 4"reverse movement would satisfy the requirements of power drain, I don't see why a 6" move under any circumstance wouldn't as well assuming some other specific rule didn't block the special action in the first place.
 
Always used the 6" move as fulfilling requirement. With that and 'phasers' only, Drain isn't an issue usually (especially when planning Gorn - what other weapons when reloading)
 
Back
Top