New To Runequest II GM Needs Help !

Hello all,

I'm new to the Runequest System!
I purchased a Runequest II Core Book about 2 years ago along with Vikings, Monster Coliseum and Arms and Equipmet Guide books. But could never find players in my area who were intersted in playing too much.

Recently I had a few players who were open to try it.

I liked everything about Runequest but the magic system, it seemed a little too open to everyone in the world as it seemed everyone gets common magic spells so it's not as traditional as a normal Sword an Sorcery setting where magic is limited to Magic Caster only per say.

So, I decided to go with Fantasy setting like the TV mini seriers and book trilogy "Earthsea" where magic a little rarer and more of a gift to have it and to cast it per say. The Fantasy Setting I'm trying to go with though is not Earthsea exactly but very similar with a viking flavor to it

So the game setting is using Runequest II rules with a magic rare theme along the line of Vikings Runequest II as we've added some Viking flavor to the setting as mentioned.

I have had one player not stop pushing the issue of magic in the game to the point now where I have given up on trying to play and run the game now. The player in question kept trying to make magic more popular and allow players to be warriors and cast spells. The player want's Glorantha type game and I kept keep saying no to that game as we're doing a magic rare theme and the only spell casters in the game are actual spell casting classes like Sorcerer, Witch, etc.