Ip'sha War Globe Wording

B_Steele

Mongoose
There has been some grammatical question as to whether or not a sole Ip'sha War Globe has the Superb Manouvreabilty trait when fielded as an ally. The wording (or rather the comma placement) is rather poor, so I checked with Matt and he clarified for me.

The only rule in that paragraph that exists for the Ip'sha War Globe solely when it is in an Ip'sha only fleet is the Initiative bonus. Everything else listed there is for ALL Ip'sha vessels.

Hope that clears up any issues! :)
 
Personally I thought the "SM" written in the "Turns" box was sufficient to avoid any debate on that one! ;)

The "power of singularity" part, now that is a different matter... critical hits are avoided on a roll of 6 (or more?!)... is that the entire critical, just the crit effect (eg: -2 speed), or merely each point of damage resulting from the crit? If the former and you fail to prevent the crit, then do you still get to roll to save against each point of additional damage caused by the crit ("from whatever source")?
 
The "power of singularity" part, now that is a different matter... critical hits are avoided on a roll of 6 (or more?!)... is that the entire critical, just the crit effect (eg: -2 speed), or merely each point of damage resulting from the crit? If the former and you fail to prevent the crit, then do you still get to roll to save against each point of additional damage caused by the crit ("from whatever source")?

Think of it this way: the Ipsha War Globe gets to roll a 5/6 to avoid any Damage points like Close Blast Doors. If it gets critical'd it would roll normally for the Damage (note - not Crew), but then would roll an additional d6 if there was a Critical Effect (Spd -1, No Weapons Fire, etc.) and ignore that on a roll of 6.

Not exactly sure where the or more came from... 8)

Hope that helps!

-Bry
 
So it avoids crit effects on a roll of 6.

I thought closed blast doors now protected crew as well. So the sequence would be on a one AD lucky hit by a triple damage weapon would be...

3 damage - roll for CBD, roll for Iphsa-ness
3 crew - roll for CBD

roll the crit - no crit chart handy...say its 2 damage 4 crew no weapons one arc.

6 damage - roll for CBD, roll for Ipsha-ness
12 crew - roll for CBD
no weapon fire one arc - roll for Ipsha-ness

Or does the Ipsha-ness roll replace CBD in those cases under the similar effect rule?

Ripple
 
I would say that the Ipsha-ness save (which is a very funny term, btw) would supercede the Damage part of the save from Close Blast Doors. Kind of like the Pak'ma'ra don't get two saves, the Ipsha shouldn't either.

I would say that an Ip'sha on CBD would simply get to roll the 5-6 for Crew as well. :)

-Bry
 
Sounds good :)

It really should say critical effects are avoided on a roll of 6 (or more), rather than critical hits, which implies the entire hit (damage, crew and effects) is ignored.
 
Must admit thats what I though it meant when I read it - Criticals are ignored but its useful to know how it does really work :)
 
Back
Top