Drakh Questions

Majoun

Mongoose
OKay, Im playing Drakh in a campaign, and Ive got some questions.

Mother Ship Questions:
Breaching Pods.
1. Okay, so the Mother ship comes with 4 breaching pods. When launched, does it mean that the Mother Ship's Troop number (4) is now zero? Are the breaching pod troops extra troops, or do they come from the ship itself?

Huge Hangars.
1. How do experience points work with the raiders/scouts included with the mother ship? I mean, do the raiders accumulate experience points individually, or for the Mother Ship? The Drakh book says that if they are destroyed, they yield victory points normally. If a raider destroys a skirmish unit, who/what gets the experience and how much? If the raiders accumulate experience, can they spend it trying to raise individual crew quality?

2. The raiders included are not regenerated by the carrier trait of the mother ship after a battle, right?

3. If I use a mother ship in a campaign, and the mother ship launches all raiders, and the mother ship is destroyed, but all or some of the raiders survive, what happens, do they just become part of my regular fleet?

4. If I have a combination of multiple carriers or mother ships, do I effectively have a pool similar to a fighter pool? If I have 2 mother ships, say, and I have one in great shape with only 3 raiders, and one in horrible shape and being sent back to headquarters for repair, and it has like 3 raiders left, can they be transferred to the other mother ship first? Could the raiders belonging to the mother ship being sent back to headquarters be put into my general fleet, granting me free raiders (would be cheesy)?

Energy Grids.
1. If I am hit once by a weapon, and it is a critical, doing 1 solid hit, I know that I take the critical effect, but do I take the solid hit or is it negated by the Grid?

I will probably have more questions later.
 
Okay, so I just read a post about the critical hit / GEG question.

From my understanding, NONE of the hull and crew damage by a critical is negated by the GEG, right?

There was some stuff about Dilgar critical multiplication rules in that post that just confused me.
 
Majoun said:
Mother Ship Questions:
Breaching Pods.
1. Okay, so the Mother ship comes with 4 breaching pods. When launched, does it mean that the Mother Ship's Troop number (4) is now zero? Are the breaching pod troops extra troops, or do they come from the ship itself?
They come from the ship itself, so your troops score will be reduced to 0, yes. Breaching pods only come with their own troop if bought as separate wings.

Huge Hangars.
1. How do experience points work with the raiders/scouts included with the mother ship? I mean, do the raiders accumulate experience points individually, or for the Mother Ship? The Drakh book says that if they are destroyed, they yield victory points normally. If a raider destroys a skirmish unit, who/what gets the experience and how much? If the raiders accumulate experience, can they spend it trying to raise individual crew quality?
The raiders have their own individual XP. They spend it to raise their own CQ and get their own refits.

2. The raiders included are not regenerated by the carrier trait of the mother ship after a battle, right?
Right, the regeneration rules say aux craft. (I think?)

3. If I use a mother ship in a campaign, and the mother ship launches all raiders, and the mother ship is destroyed, but all or some of the raiders survive, what happens, do they just become part of my regular fleet?
Yes they become part of your regular fleet. Bring on the suicide-mothership :lol:

4. If I have a combination of multiple carriers or mother ships, do I effectively have a pool similar to a fighter pool? If I have 2 mother ships, say, and I have one in great shape with only 3 raiders, and one in horrible shape and being sent back to headquarters for repair, and it has like 3 raiders left, can they be transferred to the other mother ship first? Could the raiders belonging to the mother ship being sent back to headquarters be put into my general fleet, granting me free raiders (would be cheesy)?
No, sorry!

Energy Grids.
1. If I am hit once by a weapon, and it is a critical, doing 1 solid hit, I know that I take the critical effect, but do I take the solid hit or is it negated by the Grid?
You do take the 1/1 damage because it is a critical hit, not a solid hit. The wording in the damage table is a bit confusing. There is a rulesmasters thread about this, which was recently necroed. Its about 3d from the top currently. Mongoose Steele has given an official ruling there, ignore all the other waffle ;)
 
By technicality, the Raiders or Scouts on the Motherships launch and recover as if aux. craft. That would imply that for all other intents they are considered full blown vessels on their own.

This may solve the question of experience, but it raises a technical question about if you can just pull raiders/scouts off the Carrier/Mothership and field them independantly and also if you get the r/s with the C/M or if they are bought separately.

I don't have my books on hand so I can't look for the particulars. Anyone else remember rulings/rules?
 
You do get the raiders/scouts free with the carrier/mothership, and you can't field them independently.
 
If for all intents and purposes they are AUX craft, then the ships don't get XP, and ships should regenerate as well, but I would like to see an official ruling on this.
 
Also, what happens if the Mothership is destroyed in a battle, after having launched all of it's Raiders?

Do the Raiders get added to your regular fleet or are they lost in limbo?
 
thePirv said:
Also, what happens if the Mothership is destroyed in a battle, after having launched all of it's Raiders?

Do the Raiders get added to your regular fleet or are they lost in limbo?

I think you'd have to agree on what to do at the start of the campaign, as I see it there are three options:

1. They are lost forever.
2. They are added to a "pool" of craft and can be used to re-supply either a Carrier or Mothership that loses some of it's Raiders/Scouts.
3. They may be now fielded independently

Personally I would go for Option 2 as I think that's what most people do with aux craft that lose their mothership.

Re: Regenerating craft, I though only FLEET carriers did that? I suppose you could send a ship back to command to get it fully repaired and re-supplies (I think there was a ruling on rulesmasters that taking that action replenished carried craft).

At the end of the day I personally don't think anything in a campaign need be "official". If you encounter one of the numerous situations were there exists no clear ruling, I firmly believe the players in the campaign should just come to an amicable agreement which, more likely than not, will suit all of them much better than a quick off-hand decision by Mongoose that doesn't necessarily consider the full impact of the ruling.
 
Officially its (3), they can be fielded independenty. Same as fighters who lose their carrier.

And no, Drakh motherships/carriers do not regenerate Raiders. Unless they get sent back to HQ for repairs, in which case they come back as new, complete with raider complement.
 
Burger said:
Officially its (3), they can be fielded independenty. Same as fighters who lose their carrier.

Really? Wow - why would you buy ANY Raiders independently?...just lose a Mothership in battle!
 
Hash said:
Really? Wow - why would you buy ANY Raiders independently?...just lose a Mothership in battle!
Why do you think I bought a Morshin in our campaign? It wan't for the 4AD of fusion lasers! ;)
 
Since the troops onboard the Drakh ships are used in their breaching pods does that mean that a Drakh ship that gains an extra hanger for a breaching pod also gains 1 extra troop if it needs it? The Carrier and the Mothership I believe both carry 4 breaching pods but have 4 troops. so as it stands an extra hanger would give you 5 breaching pods but only 4 troops to put on them.
 
Calistan said:
If for all intents and purposes they are AUX craft, then the ships don't get XP, and ships should regenerate as well, but I would like to see an official ruling on this.

For all intents they are NOT considered Aux. There are only two points that are specifically mentioned the ship status under the Huge Hanger rules, that of their launch/recovery protocols and the VP gained from their destruction.

pg 12 said:
They are launched and can be taken back on board the carrier as if they were auxiliary craft, using the Scramble, Scramble special order if desired. If destroyed, the Raiders and Scouts will yield Victory Points normally.

Though I've not seen any official ruling on their status outside of these conditions as of yet.




Methos5000 said:
Since the troops onboard the Drakh ships are used in their breaching pods does that mean that a Drakh ship that gains an extra hanger for a breaching pod also gains 1 extra troop if it needs it? The Carrier and the Mothership I believe both carry 4 breaching pods but have 4 troops. so as it stands an extra hanger would give you 5 breaching pods but only 4 troops to put on them.

As it stands I don't believe there would be extra troops (pending a revision/ruling from the Mongoose staff). My guess is that this was overlooked since it only impacts the Carrier & Mothership; all other ships which could pick up this Refit have the excess troops to commit with Breaching Pods.
 
Back
Top