Cover Question

Rule of thumb: You can't kill what you can't see - unless they got caught in a burst radius, of course.

I've proven that time and time again in BF2142. If you were ever killed by some yahoo in a tank who was firing blind, that was probably me.

On the topic of the Geneva Convention, my uncle (USArmy, Gulf War 1, Tank Recovery) told me a way around it when using the M2 .50 Cal. Just say you were aiming for his belt buckle.
 
If you've ever been knifed in a sniper fight, it was me.... :D
Actually, I only did that once to protect my newbie squad leader, I spend most of my time safeguarding the inside of my teams titan.

Anyway, my buddy in the guard said the same think about .50cal, but it doesn't feel right to fire a tank rifle at infantry, even though battleships do it and have a it bigger guns... :?
 
Nekomata said:
Anyway, my buddy in the guard said the same think about .50cal, but it doesn't feel right to fire a tank rifle at infantry, even though battleships do it and have a it bigger guns... :?

If you have infantry armed with RPGs hidden in cover, it is absolutely the right thing to do (in game terms, anyway. . .).
 
cutecloverkitty (5:29:00 PM): About the tank though, it's more about the psychological than the caliber.
cutecloverkitty (5:30:08 PM): Tank is the biggest "line of sight" shot that requires a human to aim and pull the trigger, no guidance package to guide the hit.
cutecloverkitty (5:30:59 PM): It's "less persoanl" if it's a battleship barrage, or a guided bomb, or any other area effect weapon.
Conversation with a friend on the subject. *shrug* I'm going to be playing with a friend on Sat with some paper proxies and Hiro's cards, and she's very admimant on doing whatever it takes to win, so when in Rome I guess... :roll:
 
Another question occured to me while messing with the rules, when you roll multiple dice for a single weapon (MG 2xd6 ect..) do both hit the same unit or do they both go to individual units in the firezone?
 
Yeah. But for the sake of simplicity, the guy in the center gets it.
Shooting
Once you have declared a Fire Zone, roll Damage Dice for your entire unit. The highest scoring Damage Dice must be allocated to the nearest model within the Fire Zone, the next highest Damage Dice to the next nearest model, and so on. If all models within the Fire Zone have been allocated a Damage Dice, then you are free to allocate any remaining Damage Dice to models as you see fit.

Discard all Damage Dice that roll a natural ‘1’. These represent wild shots or ammunition jams

Note that friendly models within a Fire Zone are potential targets as well! However, a model may never be caught within a Fire Zone that it helped create itself (in other words, models cannot shoot themselves!).

Also be aware that it is perfectly permissible for a Fire Zone to overlap more than one unit.

All models have two scores which you need to aim for when attacking them – a Target score and a Kill score. If you roll equal to or greater than the model’s Kill score, it is automatically removed from the battlefield. You have dealt it a grievous injury or even killed it outright!

If you merely roll equal to or more than a model’s Target score, then it will have a chance to use its Armour to protect itself. Your opponent must roll one six-sided dice and score equal to or greater than his model’s Armour score in order to survive. A roll of 1 for Armour is always a failure.
 
Yep, I like the new shooting rules, simple, effective, and still has much in the way of tactical depth.

A lot better than original SST's way of handling shooting, which could get confusing when the firezone caught multiple units.
 
MG dice normally count double for suppression. Does this mean you have to roll for them seperately, in case one of the MG dice rolls a 1, or do you just add 2 extra dice of suppression on top of the units roll?
 
Thanks.

I have another question about Cover. The rules say that a model can 'see through' any cover within a number of inchs equal to its size score. This would seem to suggest that no matter how wide the cover he can see through to the other side.

The wierdness I can see with this is where the cover is very wide e.g. a wood 15" wide. The rules seem to be suggesting that when a size 1 model gets within 1" of the edge of the wood he can trace a LOS right through the woods no matter how wide it is. The same if the size 1 target is within 1" of the cover on the other side. This does not seem very intuiative.

I am sorry if this question has already been answered and I have not spotted the answer in the above posts.
 
Iorwerth said:
MG dice normally count double for suppression. Does this mean you have to roll for them seperately, in case one of the MG dice rolls a 1, or do you just add 2 extra dice of suppression on top of the units roll?
you don't have to roll anything for suppression. You just count them.
 
Thanks Paladin. I wrote it out badly. What I really meant is that if each dice from a readied MG counts as two for suppression, what happens if the dice roll on one of the dice comes up a 1? If it does matter, then do you have to roll seperately or with different coloured dice, as Hiromoon suggested?
 
Iorwerth said:
Thanks.

I have another question about Cover. The rules say that a model can 'see through' any cover within a number of inchs equal to its size score. This would seem to suggest that no matter how wide the cover he can see through to the other side.

The wierdness I can see with this is where the cover is very wide e.g. a wood 15" wide. The rules seem to be suggesting that when a size 1 model gets within 1" of the edge of the wood he can trace a LOS right through the woods no matter how wide it is. The same if the size 1 target is within 1" of the cover on the other side. This does not seem very intuiative.

I am sorry if this question has already been answered and I have not spotted the answer in the above posts.

I think it means:

If you are in a wood, and a Size one model.

You can see and target 1" around you, or the size of your target.

If you target was size 3, and you were 4" away you would not have LOS.
Here Both Have Cover.


Also

If you were 2" inside a wood, and Size 1, and your target was 3" away and size 3, then you can both see each other.

In this case I think You would have Cover, the Target Obscurred.

If You were 1" a Size one Unit, in the wood and 12" away was a Unit Size 4, there would be no LOS.

At Least I think that is what the rule means.

Lee
 
Hiromoon said:
There's two ways you can handle this. Either roll them seperately or get multi-colored dice.
For my paper Marines I dug up 7 green dice for rifle, 2 red dice for grenades, 4 green swirly dice for SAW, with 4 more in my bag. It's good to be orginaized.
 
Thanks Larac and Hiromoon. So, when within cover two size 1 models only have LOS to each other up to a maximum of 2" (1" for each). Pretty short distance - might seem right for jungle/dense woods but not for light woods etc.

I suppose the best way to simulate different density of cover would be to have a multiple for LOS e.g. Light Woods x2 LOS Distance etc.
 
Its meant for Cover,

Light Woods, Scrub, and such could just be Obscured.

So just point it out before the game what counts as Cover and what is Obscured.

Best way to be sure everyone knows.


Lee
 
Um guys, you're reading this incorrectly. It is worded confusingly though, but it's actually rather simple.

The rule you guys are referencing only says that a model can see over cover that is it's size, in inches, and under, likewise a model that you're targetting can be seen even if it's behind cover that's smaller than its size.

Think of it this way, and make note I'm pointing out how incorrect the logic is: if you go with the way you read the rule, a size 4 (about 4" high) model behind size 1 cover (1" high) can only be seen if you're less than 4" away from that model, even though it obviously towers over that size 1 cover.

Then, by the same reading you have a 1" infantry model behind a 3" wall, if you put the infantry right up to the wall, within 1" away he can suddenly "see through" a solid 3" high wall for no apparent reason.

So, please don't overcomplicate the rules. All that rule means is that any model can see over cover that is it's height or smaller, and in turn can see other models behind cover that is smaller than the other model's size.
 
Back
Top