REACH WEAPONS
Normal Conan rules:
Under normal Conan Rules a Reach weapon is a weapon which can attack at Reach Range, but not shorter than that.
"Warspear" is the typical Conan Reach Weapon with a Reach of 10 ft.
In normal 5ft grid, it attacks the second square from the wielder (10 ft), but it cannot attacks the first, adjacent square (5ft).
The "Pike" is unique, since it has a 20 ft Reach.
In normal 5ft grid, it attacks the fourth square from the wielder (20 ft), but it cannot attacks the first three squares from the wielder (5-15ft).
Natural Reach: this is the Reach of large monsters. They can attack adjacent squares even if they have 10 or 20 ft reach.
A good advantage of Reach weapons is that when an enemy leaves the threatened square with anything but a free step, it allows an AoO.
New Rules with Triple Stats & 2.5 ft Grid:
What is Onset and what is Melee for Reach Weapons?
Here is my proposal:
1) Natural Reach.
This is easy.
Melee Reach is any adjacent square (first 2.5 ft).
Onset is anything beyond that and until the natural limits of Reach.
So, a Large monster with a natural Reach of 10 will have:
- 1 adjacent square of Melee range (2.5 ft)
- 2nd, 3rd and 4th squares of Onset Melee range (5 - 10 ft).
N.B: Those 3 squares is the Onset of Large creature with 10ft reach. A medium human attacking a Large Creature still has his OWN Onset (2nd square).
AoO: Attacks of opportunity are still provoked by somebody moving INSIDE the Onset Range and leaving a threatened square with anything but a free 2.5 or 5 ft step.
So, if a medium man moves inside the Large Creature Onset Range with a Move Action, he still provokes an AoO.
N.B.2: Moving from Onset to Melee STILL requires a Move Action and does not provokes AoO.
2) Reach Weapons.
Warspear and other 10ft Reach weapon:
- They cannot attack 1st and 2nd squares nearby (2.5-5ft squares), if not with the haft (see "Reach Weapon and close combat").
- The Third square (7.5 ft) is Melee Range
- The Fourth Square (10 ft) is Onset Range.
AoO: Attacks of opportunity are still provoked by:
- somebody moving INSIDE the Onset or the Melee Range with anything but a free 2.5 or 5 ft step, but not changing Range between Onset and Melee (maybe moving sideways)
- somebody moving from the Melee square to the 1st and 2nd squares with anything but a free 2.5 or 5 ft step (see "Normal Reach vs Reach Weapons below").
N.B.: Moving from Onset to Melee STILL requires a Move Action and does not provokes AoO.
Pikes (20ft Reach weapon):
- They cannot attack the first 6 squares (2.5-15ft squares), if not with the haft (see "Reach Weapon and close combat").
- The Seventh square (12.5 ft) is Melee Range
- The Fourth Square (15 ft) is Onset Range.
AoO: Attacks of opportunity are still provoked by:
- somebody moving INSIDE the Onset or the Melee Range with anything but a free 2.5 or 5 ft step, but not changing Range between Onset and Melee (maybe moving sideways)
- somebody moving from the Melee square to the 6th square with anything but a free 2.5 or 5 ft step (see "Normal Reach vs Reach Weapons below").
N.B.: Moving from Onset to Melee STILL requires a Move Action and does not provokes AoO
Reach Weapons and Close Combat
According to Conan Core Rules a Reach Weapon usually cannot be used against somebody who is nearer than that Reach range.
In these new rules the weapon (with a Melee Modifiers from triple stats) can be used in two ways:
1) Since the majority of Reach weapons have an haft, Melee Range means using just the haft for attacks. Haft does 1d4 dmg, AP 0
2) One can use the weapon normal Dmg, Crit & AP if he uses the "ShortHaft" feat (n.b. Pikes can use it only at the 5th and 6th squares):
SHORT HAFT
General
You have trained in long spear and polearm fighting alongside your comrades in arms, sometimes reaching past them while they shield you, and sometimes shielding them while they attack from behind you.
Prerequisites: BAB +3, Proficiency with a reach weapon, Weapon Focus with any reach weapon OR Spearman fet OR any Classi level Ability (Soldier formation ability, Borderer combat style, etc.) which specifically mentions spears or any other infantry's Reach weapons (not Lances).
Benefit: If you have at least 5ft of free or friendly space behind you, as a free action, you can choose to lose the reach benefit of wielding any hafted reach weapon. In return, you can use that weapon to threaten and attack spaces adjacent to you (5ft scale) or, in a 2.5 ft scale, using Onset and Melee ranges of a normal, non-reach weapon.
So, if an enemy runs into your adjacent square, which is Melee Range for him but not usable for you, with this free action you can use your reach weapon as if you are in Melee range too.
With an immediate action (usable also in another's turn), you can give up this feat’s benefit in order to regain the use of your weapon’s superior reach.
NOTES:
- You can use this feat even with any reach weapons you are proficient with, even if you do not have the weapon focus with it (prerequisite of this feat).
- Pikes are extremely long weapons, so this feat can be used it only at the 5th and 6th squares.
Normal Reach vs Reach Weapons
When two enemies with similar reach weapons fight (e.g. two warspear wielders) understanding Melee and Onset ranges is easy.
More complicated is the situation of a Reach Weapon vs a non-Reach weapons, or of two Reach weapons with different Reach ranges (Warspear vs Pike).
The basic guidelines in understanding the situation remains the rule:
- Moving from Onset to Melee STILL requires a Move Action and does not provokes AoO
Given this basic statement, to understand what is Onset and what is Melee for you, use the following considerations:
- You consider yours Onset and Melee Ranges for the sake of using your triple stats, but maybe not for spending a Move Action.
- You MUST spend a Move Action to move from Onset to Melee, but the choice is wether to spend it at your range or your enemy's range.
Here are the two choices:
CHOICE 1) If you do not want to spend that Move Action to go from your enemy's Onset to your enemy's Melee range, but go straightly to your own Onset range, you will suffer an AoO at enemy's Onset Range when you exit from that square.
If, in this process, you go even beyond you enemy's Melee Range with anything but a free 2.5 step (and still without spending a Move action), you will suffer a second AoO at Melee Range (if the enemy still has AoO available).
The point in this choise of this is that you will still spend a Move Action, but to go from your own Onset to your own Melee.
But doing so, costs the risk of AoO.
CHOICE 2) If you spend a Move Action to go from your enemy' Onset to Melee, you can even not stop at your enemy's Melee range, but go beyond, straightly into the range you like the most, your own Onset or Melee Range.
You can even go straightly to your own Melee range, forgetting your own onset and without spending a second Move Action.
Why did I allow this?
I do it since the man has already spent a Move Action.
However, if in this process you go beyond your enemy's Melee Range WITH MORE than a 2.5 ft step, your enemy is allowed to attack you with an AoO at his Melee mod as you exit his Melee range.
With the above rules Reach Weapons become more useful, since they stop, at least in part, the momentum of a charge. Furthermore the advantage of doing an AoO is preserved.
IT all sounds complicated with TOO many AoO?
False!
Look at the EXAMPLES:
W = wielder
1,2,3,etc.. number of square
O: Onset wielder
M: Melee wielder
EXAMPLES OF CHOICE 1 (not spending Move Action at your enemy's range)
The Example is WarSperman (reach 10 ft) vs Machete man.
Machete Man wants to charge the Warspearman.
To charge and Hit him, he needs to go beyond Warspearman's Onset Range, ending up in his own Onset range, liek this
Warspear: W / 1 / 2 / 3M / 4O
Machete : 2O /1M/W
During this charge machete man has:
- moved beyond Warspearman Onset WITHOUT spending a move action, so he suffers an AoO
- moved beyond Warspearman Melee with a 2.5 step, so he does not suffer an AoO
Let's do now Pikeman vs Macheteman
Pikeman: W / 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7M / 8M
Machete: 2O/1M/W
During this charge machete man has:
- moved beyond Warspearman Onset WITHOUT spending a move action, so he suffers an AoO
- moved beyond Warspearman Melee WITHOUT spending a move action, so he suffers a second AoO (If the pikeman still has available AoO).
EXAMPLES OF CHOICE 2 (spending a Move Action at your enemy's range)
Still Warspear + machete
Macheteman ends up in Warspear's Onset (4th square) by any means, he is clearly not charging straighly into Warspear wielder.
Warspear: W/1 / 2/ 3M / 4O
Machete : -/ -/2O/1M/ W
Macheteman spends a Move Action and he is in Warspear Melee Range (3rd square) WITHOUT suffering AoO
Warspear: W/1 / 2/ 3M / 4O
Machete : -/2O/1M/ W
With a Free 2.5 ft step, in teh same round, Machete Man can now go 1 square forward, putting twe warsper wielder in in his own Onset.
Warspear: W/1 / 2/ 3M / 4O
Machete : 2O/1M/ W
In this way Macheteman has not suffered any AoO, but he has spent a Move Action to be at his own Onset range.
However, Machete man can even go straightly to his own Melee range (he gained that right by spending a Move Action at the warspear Onset/Melee Range!).
So the situation should be as follows:
Warspear: W/1 / 2/ 3M / 4O
Machete : 1M/ W
Nevertheless, in this case Macheteman will suffer an AoO, since he did more than one 2.5 step to go straightly into Melee.
And now, let's see the rarer example of Choices 2 but Pikeman vs Macheteman
Macheteman ends up in Pikeman's Onset (8th square) by any means, he is clearly not charging straighly into Pikeman.
Pikeman:W /1 /2 /3 /4 /5 /6 /7M/8O
Machete: - / - / - / - / - /2O/1M/ W
Macheteman spends a Move Action and he is in Pikeman Melee Range (7th square) WITHOUT suffering AoO
Pikeman:W /1 /2 /3 /4 /5 /6 /7M/8O
Machete: - / - / - / - /2O/1M/ W
According to the above rules Macheteman in the same round, having spent a Move action, can go to his own Onset:
Pikeman:W /1 /2 /3 /4 /5 /6 /7M/8O
Machete:2O/1M/ W
But doing so, means he went BEYOND the pikeman's Onset Range with more than 2.5 ft step suffering an AoO!
Since things are as they are, it is more convenient for the Macaheteman to go into his own Melee, since he will suffer an AoO in any case.