Armour and Combat questions

Dano_13

Mongoose
Hi there,

I have a few questions on combat that I was hoping someone can answer.

1) Why did RQ2 change to Combat Actions, over strike rank? What is the advantage of the former over the latter? I can see how CA are more deadly (after you have used up your CA you are helpless) - was this the driving force behind it? How do most people find CAs work as compared to the old SRs?

2) Why are Armour points for items so tiny? It looks like 20% of the blows from a dagger are able to damage a great axe. Also - why is worn armour so light now on the Armour Points. This just makes combat so much deadlier, which was my main problem with the original RQ.

3) On page 86 of the core book it talks about how Parrying blows is contingent on the relative size of the attacking weapon vs the parrying one. How do the items Armour points fit in here? Are items assumed to not sustain any damage when they parry, or if my parrying weapon only deflects half damage, does the non-deflected damage have to get past the armour points before it can harm the parrying combatant?

4) The notes on Parrying on Page 84 baffle me. It says that a person can choose to commit a parry for their CA - but that even if they don't, they can still parry a blow on their CA since parries are reactive. So why would I ever commit to parrying an attack if I am always able to 'Wait and See'?

Thanks in advance

Dan

Hi Dan,

I'll have a go.

1) RQII has both strike rank and combat actions. They're different things. The purpose of combat actions is two-fold. Firstly, and most importantly, it provides a mechanism for ganging up. Secondly, it supports a way to cope with two weapons and weapon and shield. Combat actions are kind of clunky, but I definitely like what they do.