ACTA - SF Errata

Iron Domokun said:
I think it was Rambler mentioned that once a ship is crippled it may as well use Maximum Warp Now! and disengage because it's pretty much toast at that point.


can't use max warp if you have a dilithium crit
 
Nomad said:
Perhaps the turn stat carries over turn breaks?

Nope, P5 says specifically that it does not.

To turn once crippled, anything bigger than an F5 must stop and pivot 45 degrees. I think.

Yep thats how it works ;) Crippled is bad - your ship is going to die unless you kill all the enemy, get behind some terrain or warp out of there.

Agile ships still turn 90 degrees when not moving....
 
I haven't got the rules yet so don't know how victory points are worked out.

If a ship is crippled and runs for it does it give less points than if it stays firing its phasers and goes down fighting?

For campaigns saving the ship and crew is probably more important but if you get points for a kill then denying the enemy that kill becomes worthwhile.
 
A crippled ship gives your opponent 1/2 VP
A Ship making a tactical withdrawl gives away 1/4 VP

I assume they are cumlative.

you also gain VP for holding the table
Ships still active also can be used as In sinks but yes in a good number of circumstances -especially campaigns - you might want to withdraw.
 
Iain McGhee said:
Iron Domokun said:
Quite so, but it's possible to be crippled without a dilithium critical.

If you're crippled you can't use the Maximum Warp Now ! SA in the first place.

Yep, since per the rules if you are crippled you can't use special actions..
 
Any page ref for that - Maximum Warp now (p13) does say crippled ships can not attempt but can't see anything that says ships can not attempt more general Special actions?
 
Da Boss said:
Any page ref for that - Maximum Warp now (p13) does say crippled ships can not attempt but can't see anything that says ships can not attempt more general Special actions?

Well it looks like it didn't make it into the final copy of the rules... How odd..
 
LimeyDragon said:
Well it looks like it didn't make it into the final copy of the rules... How odd..

Was never there. Crippled ships haven't been barred from making Special Actions since Babylon 5...
 
and even then they had to be skeleton crewed to be stopped from attempting Special Actions, crippled did not affact SAs :)
 
Although it is implied that shields return to their starting value in the end phase of the turn, unless affected by other factors, this is not explicitly stated, unless i've missed it. Is this correct?
 
The KF5R retains it's Anti-Drone (SFU canon says - wrong) while the rest of the ex-Klingon ships in Romulan service lose theirs (SFU canon says - right).
 
Renny said:
Although it is implied that shields return to their starting value in the end phase of the turn, unless affected by other factors, this is not explicitly stated, unless i've missed it. Is this correct?

I don't think so. Shield damage is permanent in the game - when shields go down, they stay down.

EDIT - Although if you repair a Shield crit, I'd assume you *do* get the five (or however many) shield points that crit cost you *back*. Is this correct?
 
Nomad said:
I don't think so. Shield damage is permanent in the game - when shields go down, they stay down.

EDIT - Although if you repair a Shield crit, I'd assume you *do* get the five (or however many) shield points that crit cost you *back*. Is this correct?

That's they way I read it..
 
The only entry I can see that says the shields return to their full level in the End Phase is if you use the Boost Energy To Shields SA and still have higher than your current maximum shield rating at the end of the same turn. Is that what you're thinking of ?

(I think you might have to use this SA to get points back if you repair a critical effect affecting shields too, I'd suggest it's just your shield stat that increases but not your current rating).
 
Iain McGhee said:
The only entry I can see that says the shields return to their full level in the End Phase is if you use the Boost Energy To Shields SA and still have higher than your current maximum shield rating at the end of the same turn. Is that what you're thinking of ?

Yeah, that's the one.
 
Back
Top