Which 2H weapons can/can't Sunder?

PhilHibbs

Mongoose
Some of the 2H weapons have "Sunder" listed as a manoeuvre, some don't. How is this determined?

For example, a Great Hammer does list "Sunder", but Great Club does not. I think it makes sense that Garotte, despite being 2H, cannot Sunder.
 
It depends on the weapon. A great hammer, for instance, is often equipped with a pick-like head or counterweight designed to punch through armour.

Usually a club doesn't. If you took a club and shoved nails and shards of obsidian into it though, it might.
 
Loz said:
It depends on the weapon. A great hammer, for instance, is often equipped with a pick-like head or counterweight designed to punch through armour.
So it's a case-by-case decision, there's no in-the-rules answer other than the table, OK. Maybe p88 should read:
Sunder (Some Two-handed Weapons, Attacker Only) –
 
Yep, it could have read 'Some'. But then, that would apply to most CMs.

Personally I think the table and Combat Manoeuvre descriptions are fine, and you could also read the description of the weapon in the Equipment section. Great Hammer, for example:

The great hammer, or maul, is an enormous weapon that deals impressive bludgeoning damage. It is both a tool and a weapon, and can sometimes be found with a pick-like spike on the back portion of its head. Great hammers may be used on inanimate objects without being destroyed.
 
Back
Top