When do Shadows Repair Criticals?

Do Shadow ships repair all criticals on the same turn they receive them or the turn after? We are a little confused at the wording in the fleet list book.

Thanks!
 
The exact sentance in the book can be read both ways - in the turn in which the criticals were inflicted, or in the following turn's end phase. This is specifically his point in asking the question.
 
Shadow Queen said:
in the rule book it says the next end phase

Hi Shadow Queen! Agreed for all other ships. My confusion comes from the wording in the Fleet book for Shadows, it states:

"Shadow vessels take damage as normal but critical hits are automatically repaired in the End Phase of the turn after which they are inflicted. Critical hits to Vital Systems are also repaired at this time."

Does this mean that it happens in the end phase of the same turn or the one after (like normal ships?). Any offical clarification would be great.

Thanks!
 
Shadow Queen said:
i know they ignore crew crits

in the fleet book page 137: End phase of the turn after they were caused

Yep, agreed. No crew, no crew crits. Makes sense.

The one we are struggling with is what you and I just quoted:

“End phase of the turn after they were caused”. I know this is crazy “nit-picking” but we are not sure how to read that: Does it mean: in the end phase of the next turn or the end phase of the same turn and the “after they were caused” means they were caused in attack phase and the End Phase is after the attack phase so they are healed in the end phase of the same turn? My gut tells me they should have a turn wait like others (ecspcially since I don’t play them :D ) but I can see my opponents argument…the wording could be interpreted both ways.

How is everyone else playing this? Heal the same turn or the next?

Thanks!
 
Turn 1: critical hit is caused
Turn 2: critical hit is repaired (after the ship has spent a whole turn suffering from its effects)
 
Court Jester said:
Turn 1: critical hit is caused
Turn 2: critical hit is repaired (after the ship has spent a whole turn suffering from its effects)

That makes sense to me since other than a "cant shoot" critical before the shadow ship has fired that turn, then all other criticals dont matter.

I especially think its fair since its not my fleet :twisted: . Now I just have to wait for zulu01 to admit its the correct way to play it :lol:

Any others out there? Matt, is the correct way to play it (waiting one turn like normal fleets?)
 
Triggy said:
Indeed:

Turn 1: Ship suffers critical
Turn 2: Ship repairs critical automatically in the End Phase

:lol: Which end phase? My contention (as well as several others) is that its the turn after (like all other ships). Several people have maintained that its the same turn it happens...
 
Well... ask the question in the Rulesmaster Forum... you will onlyget opinion here (mind you you get plenty of opinion in the Rulesmaster Forum as well).

But you will find probably 99.99% of the people on this forum and that actually play the game read the rule as meaning the end phase of the next turn.

If you really need an answer the email or PM Matt Sprange for an official answer that is as official as it can get.
 
Pavlov Grenadier said:
Triggy said:
Indeed:

Turn 1: Ship suffers critical
Turn 2: Ship repairs critical automatically in the End Phase

:lol: Which end phase? My contention (as well as several others) is that its the turn after (like all other ships). Several people have maintained that its the same turn it happens...
As my example shows, if the critical is suffered in turn 1 then the critical is automatically repaired in the End Phase of turn 2.
 
Court Jester said:
Well... ask the question in the Rulesmaster Forum... you will onlyget opinion here (mind you you get plenty of opinion in the Rulesmaster Forum as well).

But you will find probably 99.99% of the people on this forum and that actually play the game read the rule as meaning the end phase of the next turn.

If you really need an answer the email or PM Matt Sprange for an official answer that is as official as it can get.

Thanks CJ! I totally forgot about the Rulesmaster forum (I am still not used to having a Rules forum seperate from the Game forum). Will post now.
 
Triggy said:
Pavlov Grenadier said:
Triggy said:
Indeed:

Turn 1: Ship suffers critical
Turn 2: Ship repairs critical automatically in the End Phase

:lol: Which end phase? My contention (as well as several others) is that its the turn after (like all other ships). Several people have maintained that its the same turn it happens...
As my example shows, if the critical is suffered in turn 1 then the critical is automatically repaired in the End Phase of turn 2.

DOH! I totally missed the Turn1/Turn 2 reference (Serves me right for doing this while at work :lol: )

Thanks!
 
I totally agree that it should be the turn after. Its just that we have another interpretation within our group that says the "automatically repaired in the End Phase of the turn after which they are inflicted" means that:
Turn 1 Attack Phase: Shadow Ship suffers Critical
Turn 1 End Phase: Shadow ship repairs critical since its the End Phase of the Turn and its after they recieved it (recieved it in Attack Phase and now its the End Phase)

Im really not sure why I am putting all this effort into since its not even my fleet :roll: . This will be my last post and I will let my gaming buddy finish it off he disagrees anymore.

Thanks to all that have responded!!
 
but it says end phase of the turn after it recieved it. so its the turn after it recieved it, not the end phase atfer it recieved it.
 
So, I am the buddy Pavlov speaks about about above with the different interpretation.

I am not arguing that Katadder's interpretation could be correct - frankly, I'd bet it probably is what the designer intended (even though it sucks for the Shadows).

But the sentance is poorly worded so that it could mean, "the end phase after which the damage was inflicted."

This ought to be clarified, just like the confusion over criticals not affecting crew.

Does this mean that no effect at all - including damage, trait loss, etc. - comes from a critical rolling on the 5 table?
 
Back
Top