VAS: when is it a possible crit?

seldon

Mongoose
Based on how I read the rules I was playing that all rolls that add up to 6 (or more ) even through mods are possible crits. Hence roll a 5 at long range + 1 for plunging = 6 and so -> possible crit.

DM, pointed out that he believes the correct approach is, only natural 6 are possible crits.

Could I get an official statement on this. Thinking about it DM's comment makes sense.

thanks
Seldon
 
Well, I would tend to agree, but it doesn't say a natural 6, hence some people believe it means a roll that adds up to 6.

it could be an unmodified roll of 6 ( ie. natural 6 ) or a modified roll of 6 ( ie. 5 +1 ) , hence the doubts.

At least until someone gives an official ruling if there are different interpretations I'd like to hear about them. If everyone plays natural six for crits that could give at least a guideline. !

thanks,

BTW Burger, great resources on your website !!!

Seldon
 
Our crowd has been playing it with natural sixes being required for a Crit, as that is what we believe the rules intend.
You could play with a "modified six" interpretation, but I think that would skew the game by greatly increasing the number of potential Crits from surface gunnery (it would have less of an effect on other types of attacks as they use fewer modifiers) and thus further exacerbate the problems we're already seeing with underpowered Air attacks.

Just my $.02 USD.... :wink:
 
Back
Top