Tactic vs longlance torps.

Captainsmirk said:
Personally in this case I would just say they cancel each other out but that's just me...


Nick

I can't even conceive of why someone would think that's the proper way to resolve this situation... it's totally absurd.

No offence intended. It's just mad, that's all. :wink:
 
Just saving myself having to roll the same dice three times...

Obviously it doesn't produce the same effect, but I'm generally don't bother with that sort of quibble...

Got an proper ruling now anyway so it hardly matters.


Nick
 
If you fire at someone at 20" and they then flank speed off at 9" they will be out of range so do the torps still hit?
 
nope <<<< wrong answer based on not reading the last three words properly...

The torpedos will still hit even if the ship moves out of range.
 
and you came to this decision how?
using this logic does this mean that i can shoot at someone say oh 21 inches away if theyre closing on me and will be within 20 inches on their next turn?
 
Jeesus man don't be so pugnacious.

I just didn't finish reading the question and assumed that it asked if the torps would miss... instead the question ended with would they hit...
 
:breaks out dictionary: ... ok...
sorry court... i didnt meant to be pugnacious, at least not towards you...

i do however have a new word of the day... pugnacious... thanks. :P
 
voodoomachine said:
You know, I find it funny that the arguement is only between whether twin-linked and evasive are simultanous (as i believe) or twin-linked happening first, then evasive happening.

Why shouldn't evasive happen first, then twin-linked?

So you would roll to hit, re-roll all your hits, then re-roll all your misses, including the ones that missed due to evasive.

That seems just as fair. Why should the defender get to basically nullify twin-linked?

I had this same question in B5 ACtA and arrived at the same conculsion as you did and then nearly got shouted down. The rule is written unclearly but I agree with your interpretation as the one that makes sense and is most in keeping with the spirit of the rules. Evasion should act per hit BEFORE Twin link. Then twin-link then should then re-roll all the misses including the ones cause by evasion.

Apparently the convention that people use (at least in ACtA) is to roll all hits first, then re-roll twin-linked, then apply evasion. The problem with this is the order of operations short-changes twin-link as it gets to re-roll straight-up misses but not misses caused by the ship evading.



Tzarevitch (as I duck and run for cover)
 
I find having a profound belief in God and praying like hell that your opponent has crap dice is good for Long Lances. Oh and carry a good life raft
 
Back
Top