SST: reactions?

Ohiowargamer

Mongoose
Do you get a reaction to a charge action if you survive? Say an arachnid warrior charges an IM Captrooper. It misses and the trooper lives. The trooper then backs off an inch ending the charge. Does the Captrooper now get a reaction? Can it now shoot at the arachnid or whatever?

Jeff
 
Even if a bug readies and does nothing, you still get the reaction.

Just don't make the mistake of reacting to reactions...... we had one player who thought it worked that way, so we let him try it. The first turn lasted for an hour and a half and he got a headache :)
 
How do stay frosty and sense presence traits work on air units?

a) don't work at all
b) work as usuall, 2" and d6" respectively
c) since reaction against air units is at double range (20" instead of 10") they too double their range to 4" and 2d6 (d6 x 2?)?
 
From memory - they work as normal in terms of adding to your detection ranges. Reactions to air units only work for those with the AA trait on their weapons at double range, mefinks?

The specific wording in the book for stay frosty is 12" instead of the usual 10" - so perhaps not. Similarly with sense presence (10+d6").
 
The range for AA is 20", it's not double the usual e.g. a pathfinder reacts at 12" with AA he's still 20". The only exception is the plasma bug at 36"

The only time any of these are stacked is with a pathfinder (e.g. reacts at 14" with stay frosty), it's specifically addressed in the rules. The 20" reaction range for AA weapons is a special rule that replaces normal reactions. We assumed that as the explanation for pathfinders doesn't include a reference to AA but does explain everything else, that AA is a separate issue. (e.g. psychic powers and extra training wouldn't add anything to the sensor arrays on AA weapons).
That's how we play it anyway.
Not that it matters very often, as most AA weapons are pack, you never get to fire them in reaction unless you are standing on an ammo dump.
(and of the two traits mentioned only one is available to the chickenhawk anyway).
Having said that, falcon missiles can come as a big shock to a hopper lover :)
 
Oh, with Sixguns, Vikings and Ammo Dumps there can be plenty of reaction AA fire.

But as I understand the answers basicaly augments to reaction range don't work against air units.
 
the Viking ammo rules only ignore natural 1 'out of ammo' results, they don't make you infinite like an ammo dump. As for the chain guns..... same situation as the javelin etc.... any vehicle you can mount it on can only take stay frosty anyway.
So you're down to the odd marauder mounted sixgun and anyone standing on an ammo dump.
 
Exosuit officers can have both Stay Frosty and Sense Presence (combo extremely worth having on a captain, at least until EVO comes out), therefore the question arised.
 
Still 20" though :)
Only way to increase it is to be a plasma bug.

Biggest 'surprise' I ever gave an opponent was a pathfinder captain with K9 corps training on a reliant bug broom. The dog was 24" away, as soon as the bugs got within 10" of him they were melted.
Only worked once though, then again next game the bugs spent so long chasing my dogs around they didn't really bother my MI :)

Either that or the pathfinders on an ammo dump, attach a neodog to the unit (officer or by caleb bond trait) and the unit gets to react to tunneling markers..... which means you can fire reaver heat missiles at tunneling markers in reaction. Couple that with falcon missiles and you only have to watch out for hoppers.
You need a second platoon of caps etc.. for the ammo dumps and it pays to have a couple you can bounce between.
 
I thought Pathfinders could only react to tunnel markers if they were also underground, since the rule is in the section for Pathfinders in tunnel complexes.
 
Read the rules on pathfinder K9s
Any unit including a pathfinder K9 can react to tunnel markers normally.
It's only in the K9 section, totally separate to the rules for the pathfinders themselves.
Just like the fact that pathfinders have a 12" reaction range. That's easy to miss too.
 
that's an issue I've got with the pathfinder book..... it's got a a few sort of 'hidden' rules. Such as the 12" reaction range for all pathfinders in the equipment section :)
 
Back
Top