Sorcery Combine Spells

Titus

Mongoose
If you combine two spells that can be resisted, does the target get separate resistance rolls against each spell?

If you combine two spells, the rules state that they take affect simultaneously. If one spell would require the other to take effect first, it seems they wouldn't be a good combination unless you can actually indicate an order for the spells to take effect.

This came to mind when I was reading the Necromantic Arts book and the Rote (useful/common spell combinations) "Warrior's Bane". Though it is in MRQ1 terminology, it is combining the Diminish (INT) and Brain Juice spells. The Diminish (INT) is intended to reduce the INT of the target and then the Brain Juice liquifies the brain if the reduced INT is low enough. That does not seem like simultaneous affects to me. Diminish would have had to have done its work first or the Brain Juice would still have been up against the full INT of the target.

Is this really a legitimate use of the combine spells manipulation?
Or would the sorcerer have to cast the Diminish (INT), followed by the Brain Juice?
 
I guess they probably should get two resists, otherwise how do you deal with two spells that resist with different skills? e.g. Diminish STR + Diminish INT
 
That makes sense and is the way I would prefer it to work.

Still curious about the simultaneous spells issue, though.
 
Back
Top