Shields

Davros1

Mongoose
Stupid question . When you charge shields you can not vharge above the original level e.g shields are 18 and can boost d6 points so you can't go above that level on SA . Is this correct ?
 
yes you can go over, but it will drop to the starting value for the following turn
 
Davros1 said:
Stupid question . When you charge shields you can not vharge above the original level e.g shields are 18 and can boost d6 points so you can't go above that level on SA . Is this correct ?

I believe you can go above the original strength for the turn you used your Boost Shields special action, but then at the end of the turn if the strength is still above the original strength you lose the excess.

Ie, you have a ship with 18 original shields, and you use Shield Boost. Roll 1d6 (say 4). Your shields are now at 22. If you take damage to the shields below 18, you stay at that level. If you didn't take damage down to 18, at the end of the turn your shields return to 18.

The Boost Shields action can also be used to repair your shields...if you don't take damage, equal to what you rolled on the boost roll, whatever you rolled is added to your current shield strength, and as long as current strength is equal to or less than the original strength, those points stay.

Ie, you had a strength of 12, roll a 4 on Boost Shields, current strength is now 16. If you don't take 4 or more points damage those points recharge your shields. Once you hit 18, any further increase is only temporary.
 
Thanks for the response I have been playing that wrong and using it only to boost damaged shields and not boost full shields to a higher level on the SA . Certainly makes a good tactic especially against plasma torps and drones .
 
Iron Domokun said:
This question keeps coming up. Is it in the FAQ?
Doesn't need to be. The wording of the special ability is quite clear:

Effect: The crew bolster their defences by channelling warp
energy to the shields. For every full 10 points of the ship’s Shields
starting score, roll one die and immediately add the total to the
Shields. This may temporarily increase the Shields to more than
their starting score during this turn
, although they will return to
the starting score in the End Phase if they are still higher.
emphasis mine... :wink:
 
scoutdad said:
Iron Domokun said:
This question keeps coming up. Is it in the FAQ?
Doesn't need to be. The wording of the special ability is quite clear:

Effect: The crew bolster their defences by channelling warp
energy to the shields. For every full 10 points of the ship’s Shields
starting score, roll one die and immediately add the total to the
Shields. This may temporarily increase the Shields to more than
their starting score during this turn
, although they will return to
the starting score in the End Phase if they are still higher.
emphasis mine... :wink:

yup seems straight forward, not sure why it's causing confusion
 
Back
Top